• £1.99

Publisher Description

Detective Alyssa Wyatt is hunting a serial killer.


She doesn’t know that he’s hunting her.


A woman is found naked, badly beaten and barely alive in the New Mexico mountains. The shocking discovery plunges Albuquerque Detective Alyssa Wyatt into a case that will test her to the limit.

It appears that Callie McCormick is the latest plaything of a shadowy psychopath that leaves a long shadow on the streets of New Mexico – an individual linked to a string of deaths but leaving no evidence.


But when Alyssa makes a breakthrough that just might reveal the killer, she unknowingly puts herself in the crosshairs of a brutal maniac – one with an old score to settle.


Because the killer knows Alyssa very well, even if she doesn’t know him. And he’s determined that she’ll know his name – even if he has to extract his deadly revenge on her and everything she loves.

The launch of a dark, gripping, completely unputdownable crime thriller series, All His Pretty Girls introduces Albuquerque detective Alyssa Wyatt. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Melinda Leigh and Angela Marsons will be utterly engrossed.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2019
October 23
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
417
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hera Books
SIZE
800.9
KB

Customer Reviews

bubbles1962 ,

Gripping Read

This was a gripping and tense read, at times you were on the edge of your seat, holding your breath, it certainly keeps your attention from start to finish, with a few good twists to the story that I just didn't see coming. How did I miss them? I like to think of myself as a good sofa detective! But then Miss Marple this isn't. This is the first book in what I hope will become a series, introducing Detective Alyssa Wyatt and her partner Cord Roberts who work for the Albuquerque Police Department.

Callie McCormack has disappeared from her home Alyssa and Cord are assigned to the case, But when they find her barely alive they realise they are hunting an evil predator, realising that Callie is not the first victim to fall foul of this evil killer. The victims all have a likeness to Alyssa which is mentioned a couple of times.

At the beginning of the book the chapters jump back and forth on the timeline which give a bit of an overlap of the events that are happening, at first I wasn't sure about this and found myself flicking back and forth to check the times and date, but once I got used to it it began to make sense. The story is narrated slightly differently from usual police procedural stories, in that it is narrated by Alyssa, and the predator Evan Bishop, so you see both sides of the story. The investigation, and the motivation and mindset of the killer. When the killer is done with one victim who will he target next? What is in Alyssa's past that haunts her? It is strange knowing who the perpetrator is, but it worked and didn't take anything away from the tension.

The violence is quite graphic, also at times creepy, so not a cozy murder mystery, and not for the faint hearted. But then I like my crime novels gritty. Although I do equally enjoy a cozy crime story in-between. I felt that this book became more of a psychological thriller than a police procedural or could be classed as a sort of crossover of the two.

For a debut novel this is very well written, the characters are well thought out, likeable and relatable. Alyssa's husband is supportive of her work and the family dynamics good, there are some moments of humour, which I like to see even in a gritty crime novel, as it can lighten it a little, rather than it be all doom and gloom. I would like to see more of these characters and get to know more about them, except for the amount of coffee drinks which was far too much and was mentioned just a few times too much.

I give this book 4 stars out of 5 and look forward to reading more by this author in the future.

I would like to thank net galley and Hera publishers for an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest, fair and unbiased review.