And Only to Deceive

    • 4.1 • 13 Ratings
    • £1.99
    • £1.99

Publisher Description

From New York Times bestselling author Tasha Alexander comes a stunning novel of historical suspense set in Victorian England, meticulously researched and with a twisty plot that involves stolen antiquities, betrayal, and murder

Lady Emily's first mystery . . .

For Emily, accepting the proposal of Philip, the Viscount Ashton, was just an easy way to escape her stifling home life and overbearing mother. So when her new husband dies on safari soon after the wedding, she feels little grief. After all, she barely knew the man.

Now, nearly two years later, she discovers that Philip was a far different man from the one she had married so cavalierly. His journals reveal him to have been a gentleman scholar and antiquities collector who, to her surprise, was deeply in love with his wife. Emily becomes fascinated with this new image of her dead husband and immerses herself in his intellectual pursuits, studying Greek and spending time in the quiet corridors of the British Museum.

But there, amid priceless ancient statues, she uncovers a dark, dangerous secret involving stolen artifacts from the Greco-Roman galleries - and as she sets out to solve the crime she discovers even more surprises about the husband she never knew . . .

Praise for Tasha Alexander

'This engaging, witty mix of Victorian cozy and suspense thriller draws its dramatic spark from the endearingly headstrong heroine's growth in life and love. A memorable debut' Booklist

'Enchanting... Alexander keeps readers guessing until the very end' Publishers Weekly

'Tasha Alexander is one to watch - and read... despite her cliffhanger climaxes and witty repartee, there's a depth of sensitivity that sets her apart' The Huffington Post

'Fans of Anne Perry and Elizabeth Peters will welcome this debut novel' The Denver Post

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2013
6 June
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Little, Brown Book Group
SIZE
2.9
MB

More Books by Tasha Alexander

2013
2013
2018
2013
2018
2013

Customers Also Bought

2009
2011
2011
2011
2011
2009

Other Books in This Series

2013
2013
2013
2013
2013
2013