#3 - Better Than Ever

Baby Be Mine

    • 4.5 • 2 Ratings
    • £3.49
    • £3.49

Publisher Description

Bridget Weber can't stand cocky Connor Harris who lives next door to her in his garish McMansion. Then a blizzard hits their town and the only one with a generator is none other than her least favorite neighbor. Will the power outage and frigid weather convince her to thaw the deep freeze that exists between them?

Connor is well aware that he's not the neighborhood favorite, but a winter storm provides the perfect opportunity to win everyone over. He doesn't expect to find himself so attracted to Bridget, the self-righteous woman next door, but close quarters and a bottle of tequila tend to heat things up on a cold winter night. He discovers that under her cool exterior is a fire that matches his own.

One night of winter passion leads to a spring surprise that will bring them together and tear them apart. 

Baby Be Mine is a surprise baby romance that will make you laugh and swoon. It is book three in the Better Than Ever later-in-life romance series and a perfect book choice for fans of Meghan Quinn, Lucy Score, Kate Canterbury, LB Dunbar, and Mariana Zapata. Love and laughter don't end at forty!

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2023
28 July
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
326
Pages
PUBLISHER
First Impressions
SIZE
428.7
KB

Customer Reviews

Wooleejumpa ,

What a complicated life!

If you suspend your belief and remember that this is fiction, you'll enjoy the story of two people taking life backwards and succeeding.

Taking shelter with her neighbour during a blackout in a winter storm, a couple of late night drinks to loosen her inhibitions and, whoops, an unexpected pregnancy. 43 year old divorcee Bridget is shocked, but not as much as Connor. Aged 50 he’s convinced he’s not father material. At the point when they're planning joint parenthood, Connor's past catches up with him causing a separation in their new found relationship.

What a complicated life!

eARC generously supplied by BookSirens, this review is my personal, unbiased opinion.

MrsGeoff ,

Second Chance at love

Bridget, a divorcee moved into her Aunt’s house in Long Island after her husband left her.

Connor, a former Premier League Footballer lives in a much larger house next door to hers.

He has loud parties, which make Bridget dislike him.

After a heavy snow storm, the power is cut off to their properties, as well as their neighbours’ properties, and unlikely to be reconnected for up to four days.

Connor is the only one to have the means to cook, having a gas grill, and a good store of food, and he invites his neighbours to his home.

Bridget is reluctant to accept the invitation, but gives in reluctantly, and joins her neighbours for food and wine, and ends up staying the night.

Things take an unlikely turn when the couple give in to their budding attraction for one another, and Bridget, who never expected it to ever happen to her, finds herself pregnant a month or so later.

Connor is horrified at the news, but they come to terms with the situation despite that, and a relationship develops between them.

There are many ups and downs to this story, with secrets untold, and feelings not shared, and judgments from friends who are concerned for Bridget.

The story is well told and researched, with a likeable cast of characters. I found it to be very moving towards the end, and shed a few tears, and I look forward to reading more by this author.

I received an advance review copy for free, and am leaving this honest review voluntarily.

More Books Like This

2015
2021
2023
2021
2016
2021

More Books by Jill Westwood

2022
2021
2022
2021
2021
2023

Customers Also Bought

2024
2023
2022
2019
2022
2022

Other Books in This Series

2022
2022