• £4.99

Publisher Description

THE SECOND INSTALMENT IN THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLING DARK ICELAND SERIES

OVER A MILLION COPIES SOLD

As the light of the arctic summer is transformed into darkness by a recent volcanic eruption, Icelandic police officer Ari Thór Arason take on an increasingly perplexing case, when a young man is discovered brutally beaten to death on the shores of a tranquil fjord…

‘A classic crime story seen through a uniquely Icelandic lens … first rate and highly recommended’ 
Lee Child

'A modern take on an Agatha Christie-style mystery, as twisty as any slalom…’ Ian Rankin

 ________________

On the shores of a tranquil fjord in Northern Iceland, a man is brutally beaten to death on a bright summer’s night. As the 24-hour light of the arctic summer is transformed into darkness by an ash cloud from a recent volcanic eruption, a young reporter leaves Reykajvik to investigate on her own, unaware that an innocent person’s life hangs in the balance.

Ari Thór Arason and his colleagues on the tiny police force in Siglufjörður struggle with an increasingly perplexing case, while their own serious personal problems push them to the limit. What secrets does the dead man harbour, and what is the young reporter hiding? As silent, unspoken horrors from the past threaten them all, and the darkness deepens, it’s a race against time to find the killer before someone else dies…

Dark, terrifying and complex, Blackout is an exceptional, atmospheric thriller from one of Iceland’s finest crime writers.

 ________________

‘Jónasson’s books have breathed new life into Nordic Noir’ 
Jake Kerridge, Sunday Express

‘The darkness and cold are palpable’ Marcel Berlins, The Times

‘A distinctive blend of Nordic Noir and Golden Age detective fiction … economical and evocative prose, as well as some masterful prestidigitation’ Laura Wilson, Guardian

‘Ragnar Jonasson does claustrophobia beautifully’ Ann Cleeves

‘A brilliantly crafted crime story that gradually unravels old secrets in a small Icelandic town … an excellent debut from a talented Icelandic author. I can’t wait to read more’ Sarah Ward

‘Is King Arnaldur Indriðason looking to his laurels? There is a young pretender beavering away, his eye on the crown: Ragnar Jónasson…’ Barry Forshaw

‘A truly chilling debut, perfect for fans of Karin Fossum and Henning Mankell’ Eva Dolan

'Fans of dark crime fiction that doesn't pull punches will be amply rewarded' Publishers Weekly

‘A vivid cast of characters, whose fears, ambitions, rivalries and longings are movingly universal’ Oprah magazine

‘Puts a lively, sophisticated spin on the Agatha Christie model, taking it down intriguing dark alleys’ Kirkus Reviews

‘The best sort of gloomy storytelling’ Chicago Tribune

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2016
30 June
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
276
Pages
PUBLISHER
Orenda Books Ltd
SIZE
915
KB

Customer Reviews

redtiger61 ,

Dark Icelandic thriller

2nd book sequentially in the Dark Iceland series. This finds Ari Thór still stuck in a backwater town, fortunately still in daylight as Reykjavik begins to darken under a cloud of volcanic dust.

A mix of murder, child abuse, rape, and other dark secrets. The story is told from different perspectives all drawing to a close in the final chapters, as all good books should!

Nannynobs ,

Thrilling read.Lots of twists and turns

Nannynobs

More Books by Ragnar Jónasson & Quentin Bates

Other Books in This Series