Christmas in Plains Christmas in Plains

Christmas in Plains

Memories

    • £5.99
    • £5.99

Publisher Description

Jimmy Carter remembers Christmas in Plains, Georgia, the source of spiritual strength, respite, friendship, and vacation fun in this charming portrait.

In a beautifully rendered portrait, Jimmy Carter remembers the Christmas days of his Plains boyhood—the simplicity of family and community gift-giving, his father’s eggnog, the children’s house decorations, the school Nativity pageant, the fireworks, Luke’s story of the birth of Christ, and the poignancy of his black neighbors’ poverty.

Later, away at Annapolis, he always went home to Plains, and during his Navy years, when he and Rosalynn were raising their young family, they spent their Christmases together recreating for their children the holiday festivities of their youth.

Since the Carters returned home to Plains for good, they have always been there on Christmas Day, with only one exception in forty-eight years: In 1980, with Americans held hostage in Iran, Jimmy, Rosalynn, and Amy went by themselves to Camp David, where they felt lonely. Amy suggested that they invite the White House staff and their families to join them and to celebrate.

Nowadays the Carters’ large family is still together at Christmastime, offering each other the gifts and the lifelong rituals that mark this day for them.

With the novelist’s eye that enchanted readers of his memoir An Hour Before Daylight, Jimmy Carter has written another American classic, in the tradition of Truman Capote’s A Christmas Memory and Dylan Thomas’s A Child’s Christmas in Wales.

GENRE
Biography
RELEASED
2001
19 October
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
160
Pages
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster
SIZE
7.5
MB

More Books Like This

Journey Interrupted Journey Interrupted
2016
An Hour Before Daylight An Hour Before Daylight
2001
Growing Up on Rt. 66 Growing Up on Rt. 66
2011
Meet the Man from Hobbtown Meet the Man from Hobbtown
2023
Barefoot in the Bindis Barefoot in the Bindis
2019
A Long Way from Home A Long Way from Home
2002

More Books by Jimmy Carter

Palestine Palestine
2008
A Full Life A Full Life
2015
White House Diary White House Diary
2010
A Call to Action A Call to Action
2014
An Hour Before Daylight An Hour Before Daylight
2001
The Hornet's Nest The Hornet's Nest
2012