Coastliners Coastliners

Coastliners

from Joanne Harris, the bestselling author of Chocolat, comes a heartfelt, lyrical and life-affirming novel of courage and conviction

    • 3.8 • 18 Ratings
    • £4.99
    • £4.99

Publisher Description

From the pen of international multi-million copy seller Joanne Harris, Coastliners is a powerful novel of a hardy island community fighting the encroaching seas. Written with her characteristic vivid descriptions, expert characterisation and sensuous language, this is a real treat for fans of Victoria Hislop, Fiona Valpy, Maggie O'Farrell and Rachel Joyce.

'A winning blend of fairy-tale morality and gritty realism' -- INDEPENDENT
'Sensuous, evocative...you can almost feel the sand between your toes and taste the salty air' -- HEAT

'I was hooked by page 2. Brilliantly written' -- ***** Reader review
'This book kept me gripped from start to finish' -- ***** Reader review
'Page turner to the last page' -- ***** Reader review

*************************************************************************************************
On the tiny Breton island of Le Devin, life has remained almost unchanged for over a hundred years. For generations, two rival communities have fought for control of the island's only beach.

When Mado returns home to her village after a ten-year absence, she finds it threatened, both by the tides and by a local entrepreneur. Worse, the community is suffering from an incurable loss of hope. Taking up the fight to transform the dying village, Mado must confront past tragedies, including the terrible secret that still haunts her father.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2011
8 February
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
480
Pages
PUBLISHER
Transworld
SIZE
1.8
MB

More Books Like This

This Rough Magic This Rough Magic
2011
Brazzaville Beach Brazzaville Beach
2013
Peace Like a River Peace Like a River
2018
The Moon-Spinners The Moon-Spinners
2011
The Complete Richard Hannay Stories by John Buchan The Complete Richard Hannay Stories by John Buchan
2021
Golden Soak Golden Soak
2016

More Books by Joanne Harris

Peaches for Monsieur le Curé (Chocolat 3) Peaches for Monsieur le Curé (Chocolat 3)
2012
The Strawberry Thief The Strawberry Thief
2019
The Lollipop Shoes (Chocolat 2) The Lollipop Shoes (Chocolat 2)
2010
Different Class Different Class
2016
Chocolat Chocolat
2010
Gentlemen & Players Gentlemen & Players
2010

Customers Also Bought

The Way I Found Her The Way I Found Her
2011
Christmas Pudding Christmas Pudding
2018
The Water's Lovely The Water's Lovely
2010
Hotel Milano Hotel Milano
2023
Passing On Passing On
2011
Good Taste Good Taste
2022