Date with Death

A Cosy Murder Mystery Full of Yorkshire Wit and Warmth

    • 4.1 • 174 Ratings
    • £3.99
    • £3.99

Publisher Description

Meet two sleuths from a sleepy Yorkshire village as they investigate murders and discover the secrets behind the twitching curtains. Date with Death is the first cosy crime novel in Julia Chapman’s Dales Detective series, perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s The Thursday Murder Club and M. C. Beaton.

Samson O’Brien has been dismissed from the police force, and returns to his hometown of Bruncliffe in the Yorkshire Dales to set up the Dales Detective Agency. However, the villagers aren’t that welcoming to a man they see as trouble.

Delilah Metcalfe is struggling to keep her business, the Dales Dating Agency, afloat as well as trying to control her wayward dog, Tolpuddle, when Samson’s first case – a supposed suicide – takes an unexpected turn, and a trail of deaths lead back to the door of Delilah’s agency.

With suspicion hanging over someone they both care for, the two feuding neighbours soon realize that they need to work together to solve the mystery of the dating deaths. But working together is easier said than done . . .

Full of wit, warmth and characters you’ll care about, continue the murder mystery series with Date with Malice.

‘A classic whodunit set in the spectacular landscape of the Yorkshire Dales . . . A satisfying read riddled with dry Yorkshire humour (and dry-stone walls)’ Cath Staincliffe, author of the Scott & Bailey series.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2017
9 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan
SIZE
6.4
MB

Customer Reviews

L122e ,

Great book

When I first started reading this book I thought it was too hard to get my head around the colloquial language. But I was so glad that I persisted. It was an excellent plot, funny in places and brought a smile to my face as I read it. Couldn’t put in down.

lulugraceybum ,

Date with death

Brilliant and gripping hope the second book ties up loose ends

More Books by Julia Chapman

2017
2018
2019
2020
2022
2021

Other Books in This Series

2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022