Edge of the Grave Edge of the Grave
Book 1 - Jimmy Dreghorn series

Edge of the Grave

Winner of The Bloody Scotland Crime Debut of the Year

    • 4.1 • 25 Ratings
    • £3.99
    • £3.99

Publisher Description

Winner of The Bloody Scotland Crime Debut of the Year
Shortlisted for the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2021 and the CWA Historical Dagger 2022

Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison is a dark historical crime novel set in 1930s Glasgow. A city still recovering from the Great War; split by religious division and swarming with razor gangs. For fans of William McIlvanney’s Laidlaw, Denise Mina and Philip Kerr.

'Peaky Blinders meets William McIlvanney in this rollocking riveting read' – Adrian McKinty, author of The Chain

Glasgow, 1932. When the son-in-law of one of the city’s wealthiest shipbuilders is found floating in the River Clyde with his throat cut, it falls to Inspector Jimmy Dreghorn to lead the murder case – despite sharing a troubled history with the victim’s widow, Isla Lockhart.

From the flying fists and flashing blades of Glasgow’s gangland underworld, to the backstabbing upper echelons of government and big business, Dreghorn and his partner ‘Bonnie’ Archie McDaid will have to dig deep into Glasgow society to find out who wanted the man dead and why.

All the while, a sadistic murderer stalks the post-war city leaving a trail of dead bodies in their wake. As the case deepens, will Dreghorn find the killer – or lose his own life in the process?

'Astounding. Tense, absorbing and dripping with gallus Glasgow humour, this book is absolutely wonderful' – Abir Mukherjee, author of the Wyndham & Banerjee series

'A magnificent and enthralling portrait of a dark and dangerous city . . . Chilling and brutal, but also deeply moving and, most importantly, beautifully written' – Mark Billingham, author of the Tom Thorne series

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
4 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan
SIZE
2.4
MB

Customer Reviews

Col. Russel ,

A Mean Way to Write about a City that is not Mean

This novel has been widely praised which I find astonishing, the writing is flat, the editing poor, the characters paper thin and just about every one is a stereotype. The writer provides a map of Glasgow but then mixes the real with the imaginary in a way that confuses a reader familiar with the city and its environs. The plot is over-egged, close to preposterous.
If you want a cartoon version of Glasgow try the unforgettable Private Spud Tamson and consign this to the recycling bin.

More Books Like This

Snow Snow
2020
The Salton Killings The Salton Killings
2012
Homeland Homeland
2012
The Death of an Irish Tradition The Death of an Irish Tradition
2008
The Murder Pit The Murder Pit
2019
Death of a Macho Man Death of a Macho Man
2009

More Books by Robbie Morrison

Cast a Cold Eye Cast a Cold Eye
2023
Wildcats: Nemesis (2005-) #3 Wildcats: Nemesis (2005-) #3
2017
Wildcats: Nemesis (2005-) #1 Wildcats: Nemesis (2005-) #1
2017
Drowntown Drowntown
2014
Wildcats: Nemesis (2005-) #9 Wildcats: Nemesis (2005-) #9
2017
Wildcats: Nemesis (2005-) #5 Wildcats: Nemesis (2005-) #5
2017

Customers Also Bought

The April Dead The April Dead
2021
Bobby March Will Live Forever Bobby March Will Live Forever
2020
To Die In June To Die In June
2023
May God Forgive May God Forgive
2022
February's Son February's Son
2019
The Heretic The Heretic
2022

Other Books in This Series