• £3.99

Publisher Description

'Crazy, absurd, complex and hilarious . . . His writing is in the same mould as that of Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams and Jasper Fforde' - TheBookBag.co.uk

'Wacky humour bubbles through the polished narrative . . . Holt doesn't skimp on the flashes of brilliance' - SFX

All Malcolm Fisher did was run over a badger. Unfortunately the badger turned out to be Ingolf, last of the giants. With his dying breath he reluctantly gave Malcolm two gifts of power and made him ruler of the world.

From one of the best-loved comic writers in fantasy fiction comes another absurdly witty title - perfect for fans of Douglas Adams or Terry Pratchett.

Books by Tom Holt:

Walled Orchard Series
Goatsong
The Walled Orchard

J.W. Wells & Co. Series
The Portable Door
In Your Dreams
Earth, Air, Fire and Custard
You Don't Have to Be Evil to Work Here, But It Helps
The Better Mousetrap
May Contain Traces of Magic
Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Sausages

YouSpace Series
Doughnut
When It's A Jar
The Outsorcerer's Apprentice
The Good, the Bad and the Smug

Novels
Expecting Someone Taller
Who's Afraid of Beowulf
Flying Dutch
Ye Gods!
Overtime
Here Comes the Sun
Grailblazers
Faust Among Equals
Odds and Gods
Djinn Rummy
My Hero
Paint your Dragon
Open Sesame
Wish you Were Here
Alexander at World's End
Only Human
Snow White and the Seven Samurai
Olympiad
Valhalla
Nothing But Blue Skies
Falling Sideways
Little People
Song for Nero
Meadowland
Barking
Blonde Bombshell
The Management Style of the Supreme Beings
An Orc on the Wild Side

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2009
November 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
224
Pages
PUBLISHER
Little, Brown Book Group
SIZE
681.7
KB

Customer Reviews

Janbelina ,

Gods, Demigods, The A39 Taunton Road, and Malcolm

I came across this book when it was newly published. I was helping the Bibliographer to categorise books at WH Smith's head office. We both skimmed the first pages of the book, then began discussing who should take it home and read it first. He pulled rank, so I bought my own copy. I can't understand why it isn't better known; and I can only think that the publishers weren't on the ball at the time. It's brilliant! It all starts with Malcolm. Malcolm is one of those people no-one notices. His life is dull and his prospects are zero . . . until his car hits a badger that was unwise enough to try to cross the A39 at just the wrong moment; a moment that changes Malcolm's life. Like it or not (and he doesn't), Malcolm is now ruler of the world. That's all I'm telling you. I'd hate to spoil it. The book is a sequel (kind of) to Wagner's opera cycle: "Der Ring des Nibelungen" (or The Ring of the Nibelung), but set in 1980s England (which is when it was written).

More Books by Tom Holt