• £3.99

Publisher Description

"A strange and joyous marvel" Richard Flanagan

For readers of Jennifer Egan, Evie Wyld, Sara Baume and David Szalay.

Robbie Arnott's mad, wild debut novel is rough-hewn from the Tasmanian landscape and imbued with the folkloric magic of the oldest fireside storytellers.

A young man named Levi McAllister decides to build a coffin for his twenty-three-year-old sister, Charlotte-who promptly runs for her life. A water rat swims upriver in quest of the cloud god. A fisherman named Karl hunts for tuna in partnership with a seal. And a father takes form from fire.

The answers to these riddles are to be found in this tale of grief and love and the bonds of family, tracing a journey across the southern island that takes us full circle.

Flames sings out with joy and sadness. Utterly original in conception, spellbinding in its descriptions of nature and its celebration of the power of language, it announces the arrival of a thrilling new voice in contemporary fiction.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE READINGS PRIZE FOR NEW AUSTRALIAN FICTION

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
November 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
237
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atlantic Books
SIZE
2
MB

Customer Reviews

Readerready2018 ,

Mixed feelings

From the moment I saw the cover of this book, I knew that i wanted to read it. As soon as I started reading I was gripped and couldn't put it down. I liked the feel of the writing, the style of writing, and found the characters interesting and mostly enjoyable, right up until about page 65 at which point the story for me, dropped like stone, at the introduction of the gin swilling detective, but I read on and the pace picked up again. For me my favourite part of 'flames' was the elememtal feel to it, and the way everything was inextricably linked with seemingly no purpose. Ultimatly I did enjoy this book, but I feel it could have been better, and could have been a real standout novel. So although I enjoyed it, I was slightly disappointed.

More Books by Robbie Arnott