• £1.99

Publisher Description

A young girl dreams of a better tomorrow...

Dee Williams' Hannah of Hope Street is a poignant saga of a young girl's fight to look after her little sister, once they are left to fend for themselves in the poverty-stricken streets of East London. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Lindsey Hutchinson.

Hannah Miller is a young girl who has had to grow up fast. Since the death of her parents she has taken responsibility for her sister Alice, determined to provide her with the love and stability they've both been denied. But when a violent incident with their bullying guardian finds the girls cold and hungry on the teeming streets of East London, Hannah realises she is out of her depth. She has little option but to accept the help of the strange old woman, Maudie, whose ramshackle home at the end of Rotherhithe's bustling Hope Street, Hannah soon realises, is a den of young thieves.

Alice loves their new life, the companionship of the lively household and the gruff affection of the enigmatic, warm-hearted Maudie. But despite the fact that she is growing increasingly fond of Jack, one of the most long-standing of Maudie's brood, Hannah can never be happy living outside the law. As she battles for respectability, Hannah begins to see she is creating an ever-widening rift between herself and those she loves most dearly - one of whom, as the Great War approaches, might be taken from her for good...

What readers are saying about Hannah of Hope Street:

'Lovely story - five stars'

'Dee Williams never lets me down'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
April 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
261
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SIZE
1.6
MB

Customer Reviews

SonicKon ,

Hannah of hope street

Brilliant book loved it works highly recommend ❤️

More Books by Dee Williams