• £1.99

Publisher Description

‘Hooked from the first page right until the last... I didn’t see the bombshell coming until it was on the page…. Transfixed and on the edge of my seat, unable to look up until I finished the book… Skilfully plotted and sizzling with suspense.’ Emma’s Biblio Treasures ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


What if the person you trust most in the world has been lying to you for your whole life?


Martha would do anything for her devoted mother, Fran. Now in her mid-twenties, Martha still lives with her in their remote, pretty cottage in the Cornish countryside. Fran paints illustrations, while Martha trains to be an animal nurse.


But then Martha sees a strange message on her mother’s phone – apparently from her estranged father. 


He had been there for her first steps. He’d helped with her homework, and taken her for ice cream at weekends. And then, two days before her ninth birthday, he walked out. She never knew what went wrong, and she and Fran never heard from him again.


Desperate for answers, she tracks him down. But when they come face to face, she isn’t ready for the brutal truth.


Closing his eyes he says, ‘She hasn’t told you, has she? I’m not your father.’


Her mother has been telling lies. 


And not just about who her real father is…


A page-turning, gripping psychological thriller for fans of Paula Hawkins, Shalini Boland, and C. L. Taylor.


Readers are loving Her Mother’s Lies:

WOW!!! Amazing, phenomenal, unputdownable… It doesn't get any better than this.’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Wow wow wow!!... I was hooked from the first page!... Instantly grips you… So many twists... Kept me guessing right until the very end. A very easy five stars from me. Highly recommended!’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘It's been a long time since I have read a book that has made me feel utterly gobsmacked. If life hadn't been in the way, I could easily have read Her Mother's Lies in one sitting, it was unputdownable. An easy 5 stars from me!’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A page turning, thrilling book… easily one of the best books I have read this year.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I was in shock. This author sure knows how to pack a punch. A jaw dropping, heart stopping page turner of a read. It should come with a warning as I could feel my heart racing towards the end as the revelations came thick and fast. I can still feel the adrenaline now coursing through me just thinking about it.’ By the Letter Book Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 


Fantastic… did not see that ending coming at all’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Absolutely stunning… doesn't let you go until that very last page… READ IT and read it as soon as you can! ’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Gripping, intriguing, and mind blowing!... The story starts off with a bang. The entire time I was reading, I was guessing what would happen, only to be proven wrong.’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Wow, what a book!!!!!... I never saw all the twists and turns coming that this book had in store. It was like I was on a rollercoaster ride that I never wanted to get off from.’ Blue Moon Blogger ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Just Brilliant!!!!... A fantastic book and I was hooked within the first few pages… Blimey what a cracking read!... a brilliant psychological thriller that will keep you hooked… Wow!’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A fast paced rollercoaster ride that is packed full of so many twists and turns that by the time you reach the final twist, you are left feeling so dizzy that all you want to do is lie down in a dark room… One hell of unexpected jaw dropping twist… Well worth far more than five stars and very very highly recommended.’ Nicki’s Life of Crime ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2019
October 23
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
392
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SIZE
4.8
MB

Customer Reviews

bubbles1962 ,

An unputdownable read

I found this book to be slow to start with me, and I have learnt that I like a book to hook me from that first page, I want it to be fast paced, but once I started through a few chapters, the pace picked up a bit. So many secrets and so many lies.

I couldn’t feel sorry for some of the characters, because they had ruined lives, through lies. The one person I actually felt for was Martha, because her life dramatically changed, her father Greg had left when she was 9, she hadn’t seen or heard from him since then. Her mum Fran was an alcoholic, obese, diabetic who didn’t seem to look after herself, and seemed to rely on Martha a lot.

Martha loses her job when her boss Pete dies, Martha is devastated not just at the loss of her job, but at the loss of Pete as he had been like a father to her. Martha has to go home and tell her mum now that she won’t be bringing any money in. She knew it was also going to be tough to get another job, because her mum had moved them years ago to a village in the backend of nowhere down near Cornwall, they couldn’t afford a car and Martha had failed her driving test 3 times. The only person Martha feels she can confide in is Izzy, who listens, and when Martha is taken into hospital for her diabetes and a heart attack, Izzy comes to Martha’s aid.

The story is told from several points of view mainly Martha and Fran, the timescale jumps a couple of times but that is easy to follow and is necessary for the story to be explained. But there are so many secrets and lies, but as each one comes out, it leaves even more questions.

This is a complex story, with a web of lies that need unravelling, and it wouldn’t be a psychological thriller if it didn’t have that twist at the end that you just didn’t see coming. I enjoyed this once I had got into the story.

Thank you to #netgalley and #bookouture for my copy of this book in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

Kerryt6 ,

Utter drivel

What a dreary tale. Somebody else reviewed this and said they never saw the shocking twist coming at the end. The only thing I felt at the end was relief it was over.

More Books by Rona Halsall