Jar of Hearts

The 'riveting, stand-out thriller' perfect for fans of Lisa Gardner and Riley Sager

    • 4.2 • 19 Ratings
    • £1.99
    • £1.99

Publisher Description

'Jar of Hearts will have readers gasping in shock. Suspenseful, gritty and utterly unforgettable.' Riley Sager, author of Final Girls

Five years ago, Geo's first love was revealed as a terrifying serial killer.

But he escaped custody and went on the run.

Now, bodies have started turning up, killed in exactly the same way as before.

The message is clear: he's making his way to her, one murder at a time...

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
2 August
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
411
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atlantic Books
SIZE
3.4
MB

Customer Reviews

JessicaJohnston ,

A Slow Burn But Totally Worth It

If you’d asked me to rate this book three chapters in, I would’ve given it a 2 out of 5.
However, it would have been incredibly unfair to the brilliance of this book.
The start was slow for me but the amount of twists and turns in the last hundred pages alone left me wishing for more.
I guessed the obvious twist but that twist had several more intertwined with it.
Amazing. I’m so glad this was recommended to me!

Deedee Pattinson ,

Dark and twisted thriller!

“In every story, there’s a hero and villain. Sometimes one person can be both.”

What a twisted, unpredictable thrill ride this book was! It had me on the edge of my seat and I couldn’t put it down.

The writing style is excellent. Well paced and written in such a way as to make you believe you know what’s going to happen right up until you don’t. Great plot twist at the end which I only saw coming right before it happened.

The characters were believable and relatable even though they weren’t necessarily likeable. The scene setting was subtle and added just enough to the story without detracted from the drama.

Jar of Hearts contains plenty of graphic scenes including murder and rape.

Thoroughly enjoyed this one in a sick and twisted way - highly recommend to fans of thriller mysteries with a gritty edge!

4 stars ⭐️ ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Jar of Hearts is available now.

Thank you to the NetGalley and the publishers (Atlantic Books, St. Martin’s Press and Minotaur) for providing a copy. All opinions are my own and provided willingly.

Sniffy1234 ,

LOVED IT!!

Oh my! I was extremely excited and very much looking forward to reading this highly anticipated book after seeing some fabulous reviews for it. I can more than happily confirm that after I'd finished reading, it was everything I had expected and MORE!
Frighteningly vivid and so tense there were times I didn't realise I was holding my breath, I was so immersed in the moments and the well developed characters. It truly felt as though I was actually standing in the story viewing it as a spectator. Such a professionally written and polished story with an intense clarity to detail, it really did make for a sick, twisted and utterly compelling novel. The women's prison scenes at the start were truly scary and certainly had me on the edge of my seat.
"Jar of Hearts" is told between the present day and the past as it actually happened and although I did start to work out the twist towards the last quarter of the book this didn't effect my enjoyment of the story as I was hooked into still seeing how it all came together at the end. And what an ending!
I haven't read any of Jennifer Hillier's other books but I am now very keen to read more by her because if they are anything like this one, then they will be fabulous too!
A word of warning though - there is a continuous flow of sensitive and explicit scenes throughout, very much needed for the telling of the whole story, so therefore if you are easily offended or squeamish then this sadly may not be for you.
Fast paced, creepy, twisted, dark, gruesome, stomach churning, enthralling, addictive etc etc etc I could go on! I SO LOVED this book, it was everything I seek in a serial killing thriller and I will be certainly be putting this book in my top ten possibly even my top five for 2018!!

A fabulous 5 stars and more!

More Books by Jennifer Hillier

2020
2011
2015
2014
2012
2022

Customers Also Bought

2019
2019
2019
2018
2017
2015