Leeward Leeward

Leeward

A Times Historical Novel of the Year 2023

    • 2.0 • 1 Rating
    • £3.99
    • £3.99

Publisher Description

For whatever we lose, it is our self we find in the sea.

‘The best swashbuckler of the year ... There are echoes of Horatio Hornblower in Nightingale’s introspection and doubts. The gay love story is beautifully written and the evocation of life on board the Scylla is equally good’ The Times

‘An extraordinary work, absolutely breathtaking ... it beggars belief’ Conn Iggulden, New York Times & Sunday Times bestselling author

‘Achingly beautiful. A delightful, romantic, queer historical adventure’ Mackenzi Lee, New York Times bestselling author

Captain Hiram Nightingale is a veteran of the wars which have raged throughout Europe and the Americas. But a grand victory at the Battle of the Nile in 1798 comes at a devastating cost. Plagued by wounds both physical and mental, he attempts to recover by accepting command of HMS Scylla. His task is to hunt down a mutinous ship and bring the crew to justice.

However, it soon becomes clear that the mission is just one danger in an immense web. Nightingale finds himself in the middle of a network of secrets that will affect everyone onboard the Scylla. He has to battle against the perils of the war-torn seas, a crew who he fears does not accept him, and meddling, powerful figures from his past.

And in the centre of all this, his new lieutenant, the popular Arthur Courtney, stirs up long repressed feelings. On his journey, Nightingale must confront his own demons. For it seems, during his dangerous adventure, his greatest enemy might just be himself.

A deeply poignant tale of naval warfare, political intrigue and a love between two men that stands tall in an unaccepting world. Perfect for fans of Hornblower, Sharpe and Outlander.

Praise for Leeward

‘There is a weight of human insight here that is quite dazzling. A story told with such panache deserves a bestseller mass audience’ Conn Iggulden

‘One of the best debut novels I have read in many years. A magnificent, compelling read’ Ben Kane, Sunday Times bestselling author

‘Profound, intricate, artful. A truly original story of forbidden love and adventure. I urge you to sail into the storm!’ A. J. West, Sunday Times bestselling author

‘A stunning book. In an utterly authentic voice, Katie Daysh brings to life the terrifying power of the sea, and the bonds of both love and duty that tie a captain to his ship’ Damion Hunter, author of Shadow of the Eagle

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
11 May
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
494
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SIZE
3.6
MB

More Books Like This

Beyond the Reef Beyond the Reef
2009
For My Country's Freedom For My Country's Freedom
2010
The Only Victor The Only Victor
2020
An Honourable Man An Honourable Man
2012
The Roots of Betrayal The Roots of Betrayal
2011
The Wreck of the Titan The Wreck of the Titan
2012

More Books by Katie Daysh

Customers Also Bought

Usurper Usurper
2023
The Lost Prince The Lost Prince
2023
The Girl and the Sword The Girl and the Sword
2023
Sailor of Liberty Sailor of Liberty
2023
The Ring Breaker The Ring Breaker
2022
Kings of War Kings of War
2023