• £0.49

Publisher Description

"Life of Her Most Gracious Majesty the Queen" in 2 volumes is a biographical account of the British Queen Victoria written by the Scottish novelist Sarah Tytler. Victoria (1819-1901) was Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland from 1837 until her death. She adopted the additional title of Empress of India in 1876. Known as the Victorian era, her reign of 63 years and seven months was longer than that of any of her predecessors. It was a period of industrial, cultural, political, scientific, and military change within the United Kingdom, and was marked by a great expansion of the British Empire.

Volume 1:

Sixty-three Years Since



The Accession

The Proroguing of Parliament, the Visit to Guildhall, and the Coronation

The Maiden Queen

The Betrothal

The Marriage

A Royal Pair

Royal Occupations – An Attempt on the Queen's Life

The First Christening – The Season of 1841

Birth of the Prince of Wales – The Afghan Disasters – Visit of the King of Prussia – The Queen's Plantagenet Ball

Fresh Attempts against the Queen's Life – Mendelssohn – Death of the Duc D'orleans

The Queen's First Visit to Scotland

A Marriage, a Death, and a Birth in the Royal Family…

Volume 2:

Royal Progresses to Burghley, Stowe, and Strathfieldsaye

The Queen's Powder Ball

The Queen's First Visit to Germany

Railway Speculation – Failure of the Potato Crop – Sir Robert Peel's Resolutions – Birth of Princess Helena – Visit of Ibrahim Pasha

Autumn Yachting Excursions – The Spanish Marriages – Winter Visits

Installation of Prince Albert as Chancellor of Cambridge

The Queen's Visit to the Western Islands of Scotland and Stay at Ardverikie

The French Fugitives – The People's Charter

The Queen's First Stay at Balmoral

Public and Domestic Interests – Fresh Attack upon the Queen

The Queen's First Visit to Ireland

Scotland Again – Glasgow and Dee-side

The Opening of the New Coal Exchange – The Death of Queen Adelaide

Preparation for the Exhibition – Birth of the Duke of Connaught…

August 6

More Books by Sarah Tytler