• £4.99

Publisher Description

In Life, the Universe and Everything, the third title in Douglas Adams' blockbusting sci-fi comedy series, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Arthur Dent finds himself enlisted to prevent a galactic war.

This edition includes exclusive bonus material from the Douglas Adams archives, and an introduction by Simon Brett, producer of the original radio broadcast.

Following a number of stunning catastrophes, which have involved him being alternately blown up and insulted in ever stranger regions of the Galaxy, Arthur Dent is surprised to find himself living in a cave on prehistoric Earth. However, just as he thinks that things cannot get possibly worse, they suddenly do. An eddy in the space-time continuum lands him, Ford Prefect, and their flying sofa in the middle of the cricket ground at Lord's, just two days before the world is due to be destroyed by the Vogons.

Escaping the end of the world for a second time, Arthur, Ford, and their old friend Slartibartfast embark (reluctantly) on a mission to save the whole galaxy from fanatical robots. Not bad for a man in his dressing gown . . .

Follow Arthur Dent's galactic (mis)adventures in the rest of the trilogy with five parts: So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish, and Mostly Harmless.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
September 1
Pan Macmillan

Customer Reviews

Chic Suite ,


For the price - Ouch! Sort it out apple!

lawrenzo49 ,

How much?

I wanted this book as haven't read for a long time but have not downloaded as the price was extortionate.
Managed to find in a charity shop for 80p bit of a difference there.

Dancing Fish ,

Good book bad price

You have just lost a sale for ridiculous overpricing. Sorry, but that's just silly

More Books by Douglas Adams

Other Books in This Series