• £3.99

Publisher Description

The first book in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s treasured Little House series—now available as an ebook! This digital version features Garth Williams’s classic illustrations, which appear in vibrant full color on a full-color device and in rich black-and-white on all other devices.

This beloved story of a pioneer girl and her family begins in 1871 in a log cabin on the edge of the Big Woods of Wisconsin. Four-year-old Laura lives in the little house with her Pa, her Ma, her sisters Mary and Carrie, and their dog, Jack. Pioneer life is sometimes hard for the family, but it is also exciting as they celebrate Christmas with homemade toys and treats, do the spring planting, bring in the harvest, and make their first trip into town. And every night Laura and her family are safe and warm in their little house, with the happy sound of Pa’s fiddle to send them off to sleep.

The nine Little House books are inspired by Laura’s own childhood and have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America’s frontier history and as heartwarming, unforgettable stories.

March 8

Customer Reviews

Lee H-L ,

An interesting tale of life in America 140 years ago

I read this book when I was little and have just read it again with my 8 year old daughter. We both enjoyed it very much. Some of the scenes are a little explicit: hunting deer, butchering a hog, etc. However, this is what life was like then and we talked about it together. My daughter feels better about it now and is looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

More Books by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Other Books in This Series