Meet Me Under the Clock Meet Me Under the Clock

Meet Me Under the Clock

A gritty and heartwarming wartime saga

    • 5.0 • 5 Ratings
    • £3.99
    • £3.99

Publisher Description

As the pressures of rationing, bombing raids and sleepless nights grow, two sisters must decide what they really want from life – and if they're brave enough to fight for it. Meet Me Under the Clock is a beautiful wartime story from Annie Murray.

Growing up in Birmingham, Sylvia and Audrey Whitehouse have always been like chalk and cheese. When the Second World War breaks out, Sylvia is still dreaming of her forthcoming marriage to fiancé Ian – while Audrey jumps at the career opportunities the Women's Auxiliary Air Force (WAAF) throws her way.

Audrey joins the ranks at RAF Cardington but soon finds that her new freedom also brings temptation. When she goes too far, the consequences ripple through the Whitehouse family. Meanwhile, Sylvia is doing her bit as a railway porter, much to her fiancé’s dismay. He thinks the job is unfeminine - unlike Sylvia's new friend Kitty, who is as sweet and pretty as can be. But Kitty's innocent nature hides a dark secret . . .

A heartbreaking yet inspiring wartime set novel, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2014
27 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
350
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan
SIZE
1.8
MB

More Books Like This

Secrets of the Chocolate Girls Secrets of the Chocolate Girls
2022
All the Days of Our Lives All the Days of Our Lives
2011
Family Matters Family Matters
2022
Taste of Honey Taste of Honey
2011
Wish Come True Wish Come True
2011
All Summer With You All Summer With You
2019

More Books by Annie Murray

My Daughter, My Mother My Daughter, My Mother
2012
Chocolate Girls Chocolate Girls
2010
War Babies War Babies
2015
All the Days of Our Lives All the Days of Our Lives
2011
A Wartime Secret A Wartime Secret
2017
Soldier Girl Soldier Girl
2010

Customers Also Bought

A Mother’s Blessing A Mother’s Blessing
2009
Ambulance Girls At War Ambulance Girls At War
2019
Daughters of Liverpool Daughters of Liverpool
2009
Christmas on the Mersey Christmas on the Mersey
2014
Where the Heart Is Where the Heart Is
2010
Love and War Love and War
2010