My Kind of People My Kind of People

My Kind of People

A Novel

    • £11.99
    • £11.99

Publisher Description

From the author of The Salt House and This Is Home comes a profound novel about the power of community and a small town’s long-buried secrets as a group of New England islanders come together for a recently orphaned girl.

On Ichabod Island, a jagged strip of land thirteen miles off the coast of Massachusetts, ten-year-old Sky becomes an orphan for the second time after a tragic accident claims the lives of her adoptive parents.

Grieving the death of his best friends, Leo’s life is turned upside down when he finds himself the guardian of young Sky. Back on the island and struggling to balance his new responsibilities and his marriage to his husband, Leo is supported by a powerful community of neighbors, many of them harboring secrets of their own.

Maggie, who helps with Sky’s childcare, has hit a breaking point with her police chief husband, who becomes embroiled in a local scandal. Her best friend Agnes, the island busybody, invites Sky’s estranged grandmother to stay for the summer, straining already precarious relationships. Their neighbor Joe struggles with whether to tell all was not well in Sky’s house in the months leading up to the accident. And among them all is a mysterious woman, drawn to Ichabod to fulfill a dying wish.

Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Ann Leary, My Kind of People is a riveting, impassioned novel about the resilience of community and what connects us all in the face of tragedy.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
12 May
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria Books
SIZE
6
MB

More Books Like This

The Ones We Keep The Ones We Keep
2022
The Divorce Party The Divorce Party
2008
The Shadow Year The Shadow Year
2013
Oh, Sister Oh, Sister
2023
The Other Widow The Other Widow
2016
The Anniversary The Anniversary
2018

More Books by Lisa Duffy

This Is Home This Is Home
2019
The Salt House The Salt House
2017

Customers Also Bought

The Lake Season The Lake Season
2015
The Summer of Songbirds The Summer of Songbirds
2023
Bulls Island Bulls Island
2008
Beach House Memories Beach House Memories
2012
The Wedding Veil The Wedding Veil
2022
Girls of Summer Girls of Summer
2020