• £0.99

Publisher Description

When Lucy’s parents are killed in a train crash, her kindly uncle steps in to look after the little girl – to the initial apprehension of his wife and her son. However, Lucy’s sweet, spirited charm slowly wins over her new family, and as she overcomes the trauma of her childhood, she grows up inspired to become a doctor, just like her father.

But studying medicine in London takes Lucy far from her home in Hull and the people she loves, and she has to battle to be accepted in a man’s world.

With the dark clouds of the First World War gathering on the horizon, an even greater challenge approaches. Can a woman find her place on the front line of battle? Will Lucy be able to follow her dreams – and find love – in a world shattered by war?

Val Wood's wonderful historical sagas are perfect for readers of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2016
October 20
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
480
Pages
PUBLISHER
Transworld
SIZE
2
MB

Customer Reviews

Ronmet1 ,

A lovely book

I have read a few of Val Wood’s books and always enjoy them. This book is a very pleasant read and I would recommend it.

ferrymaid. ,

No place for a Woman.

I loved this book. Every one of Val Woods books that I have read has been absorbing.This was no exception.

More Books by Val Wood