Not a Happy Family

The gripping Richard and Judy Book Club 2022 pick, from the #1 bestselling author of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR

    • 3.8 • 56 Ratings
    • £2.99
    • £2.99

Publisher Description

The chilling Sunday Times bestseller perfect for fans of Knives Out. A Richard & Judy Book Club pick.

'In this fast-paced, twisted family saga, Shari Lapena keeps you guessing until the very last page...' PAULA HAWKINS

The new unputdownable thriller from the multi-million-copy bestselling author of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.

In this family, everyone is keeping secrets - even the dead.

In the quiet, wealthy enclave of Brecken Hill, an older couple is brutally murdered hours after a tense Easter dinner with their three adult children. Who, of course, are devastated.

Or are they? They each stand to inherit millions. They were never a happy family, thanks to their vindictive father and neglectful mother, but perhaps one of them is more disturbed than anyone knew. Did someone snap after that dreadful evening? Or did another person appear later that night with the worst of intentions? That must be what happened. After all, if one of the family were capable of something as gruesome as this, you'd know.

Wouldn't you?

'Nobody does a vicious family circle like Shari Lapena. Highly recommended' Cara Hunter

'Queen of the modern crime novel, Shari Lapena, is back with another tale of murder... Shari will keep you guessing until the very end' Sunday Express

'A cross between Big Little Lies and Miss Marple' Woman's Weekly

'[A] dramatic, tense and satisfying murder mystery' My Weekly

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
27 July
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
448
Pages
PUBLISHER
Transworld
SIZE
6.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Bird-from-hell ,

The flawed thriller

I loved parts of this story, I find it really interesting how people change when moneys involved. I think in the same situation we’d all like to think we would act differently but this book shows that everyone makes mistakes.
Shari Lapena’s writing style has definitely improved since ‘The couple next door’, but still lacks good character depth and context. The pace makes for a quick and thrilling read, particularly when you turn the page it suddenly jumps to a new characters perspective, but it also made it hard to settle and build a picture of the characters. I also hate it when a characters physical appearance is described much later in a book as Lapena does here, at that point we’ve already made a picture in our head of what they might look like!!

Unclesuperfly ,

Over wrought & unsatisfying

Every character is horrible to the point where I just didn’t care. Why do writers still insist on using the old, shivers down the spine trope? Which I find, meaningless and lazy

More Books by Shari Lapena

2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2017

Customers Also Bought

2021
2021
2020
2021
2021
2021