One Family Christmas

    • 4.4 • 48 Ratings
    • £1.99
    • £1.99

Publisher Description

A big family. A whole lot of secrets. A Christmas to remember…

This year, Lottie is hosting one last big family Christmas at the home she grew up in – just like her Nana would have wanted.

But when her relatives descend on the old manor house, Lottie gets more than she bargained for. Every family has its secrets, but in this family, everybody has one!

So, between cooking a Christmas dinner, keeping tensions at bay and a stray dog out of mischief, she has plenty on her plate (and not just misshapen sausage rolls and a frozen turkey). And then her first love shows up – nine years after he walked out of her life.

Can Lottie make their last family Christmas one to remember… for the right reasons?

A festive treat to curl up with this Christmas, perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Trisha Ashley.

Reviews

** Praise for One Family Christmas **

‘Bursting with festive cheer, hilarity and heartwarming romance’ – Cressida McLaughlin

‘LOVED this story of one woman trying to hold her family together – and wondering if it’s worth it. Bella Osborne’s on my list of must-read authors.’ – Sue Moorcroft

‘Perfect to curl up with on a cold winter’s day. Bella’s books will leave you with the warmest of glows.’ – Phillipa Ashley

‘Witty, wonderful, sparkling and sweet. Just what we all need this Christmas – some fabulous festive escapism.’ – Milly Johnson

** Praise for Bella Osborne’s books **

‘A Walk in Wildflower Park is pure escapism – full of wit, warmth, humour, and a moving look at the friendships and relationships that make us all tick.’ – Debbie Johnson

‘Bella Osborne has such a nice touch with description … I was utterly charmed’ – Sue Moorcroft

‘Absolutely brilliant. It's funny, heartwarming, entertaining and I couldn't put it down’ – Phillipa Ashley

‘I really enjoy Bella Osborne’s books’ – Katie Fforde

‘A warm and engaging story with relatable characters who will worm their way into your heart. A great read!’ – Talli Roland

‘Loved it! Believable characters, a sweetly told, lovely story… a great read’ – Jane Lovering

‘Romance, comedy, and mystery abound in this delightful British novel’ – I Read That Book!

‘A great read, with some really special moments… so beautiful and romantic’ – Annie’s Book Corner

‘A well-written and charming tale.’ – Paris Baker’s Book Nook

'Makes me feel like I should be reading it while wearing a tea dress, drinking posh coffee from a china cup and eating Victoria sandwich cake with a dainty little fork. It's charming, adorable, amusing and all those sorts of words' – Escape Into Words

About the author

I've been jotting down my stories as far back as I can remember. Somehow life took over, I got a sensible job in project management and the writing has remained a passion.
I live in The Midlands with my lovely husband and our wonderful daughter, who thankfully, both accept me as I am (with my mad morning hair and a penchant for skipping).
You can follow me on Twitter @osborne_bella.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
15 October
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Avon
SIZE
2.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Avimc ,

A funny Christmas book we can all relate too!

I haven’t read any books by Bella Osborne but I will definitely be looking for more.
I was immediately sucked in the the family Christmas of Lottie and her family. Lottie has recently lost her dear nana and was determined to make one last family Christmas before the house is sold. All her plans go astray when she is faced with the return of her first love Joe from America.
Everything that could go wrong will go wrong for The Collins Family. They made me laugh as they moved from one disaster to the next. Amidst all of this we learn how important keeping up family traditions are.
A funny/sad Christmas book. Loved every single page from start to finish.

Riverdaffyd ,

A Delightful Christmas Story

A sweet, lively story. The characters are finely drawn, and I reckon most people can think of similar people in their own wider families.

Lottie has spent much of her life living with her grandmother, her real mother being far too busy looking for ‘the one’ to spend her life with, leaving Lottie and her brother Zach with her mother and only returning for a while when yet another relationship collapsed. Five weeks before Christmas she and her grandmother Rose are sorting things out ready for the normal family Christmas, writing cards and preparing the Christmas pudding. Sadly, three weeks later the family come together for Rose’s funeral. Lottie is shocked to find that her mother and her brother Daniel have already put the house up for sale - she and Uncle Bernard, who also lived in Rose’s large Manor House are about to be made homeless! After the service Lottie, having heard some of them talking about their Christmas plans, gets them all together and demands that they all come for a final family Christmas at the manor. They all agree, if somewhat grudgingly.

And so follows a loud, busy family Christmas, complete with unexpected guests, furious rows, accidents; Lottie feeling resentful because she has never produced a Christmas dinner before and almost nobody wants to help with any of it - preparation or clearing up afterwards. On Christmas Eve there is a knock on the door, and it is the estate agent to let them know that a company has bought the house at the full asking price, Lottie’s about to be homeless! Her mother and Uncle Daniel celebrate by drinking all the Prosecco that Lottie had hidden away to serve with Christmas dinner. There will only be ordinary wine now, and it is their own fault!

There are moments of high farce, laugh-out-loud humour, and a few sad moments, all well-written and imaginable. And anyone who has ever cooked a Christmas meal will be familiar with some of the disasters, and methods of recovering from them. And there are happy-ever-afters for most of the characters ... although the kitten that gets named right at the end of the book might well disagree!

Well worth reading.

More Books by Bella Osborne

2022
2015
2016
2017
2018
2018

Customers Also Bought

2020
2020
2019
2019
2020
2020