• £0.99

Publisher Description

Introducing Inspector Jimmy Perez. Raven Black is the first book in Ann Cleeves' bestselling Shetland series – a major BBC One drama, starring Douglas Henshall.

A remote community with a killer in their midst . . .

On New Year’s Day Shetland lies buried beneath a deep layer of snow. Trudging home, Fran Hunter's eye is drawn to a vivid splash of colour on the white ground, ravens circling above. It is the strangled body of her teenage neighbour. As Fran opens her mouth to scream, the ravens continue their deadly dance . . .

The body is found close to the home of a lonely outcast and local suspicion falls firmly on him. But when Inspector Jimmy Perez insists on broadening the search for suspects, a veil of distrust and fear is thrown over the entire community. As the case develops Perez finds himself peering deeper into the past of the Shetland Islands than anyone wants to go.

Also available in the Shetland series are White Nights, Red Bones, Blue Lightning, Dead Water and Thin Air.

Crime & Thrillers
30 September
Pan Macmillan

Customer Reviews

nottingham_sel ,

Loved this book...

The story was like a slow burning fire building up to something I never expected, excellent read. I can't wait to read all of them now! Love Shetland!


Excellent murder mystery

I purchased this book as part of an Apple promotion and I really enjoyed it. Ann sets the scene beautifully and in such detail that you feel you know the islands. She really did keep you guessing until the end! Highly recommended.

Roamer128 ,

Raven Black

An excellent book, very atmospheric

More Books by Ann Cleeves

Other Books in This Series