• £0.99

Publisher Description

Murder with a sting in the tail.

Popular playwright Philocles and his actors are hired to take his latest play to Corinth to promote goodwill between the two cities. But on arrival, their guide and fixer Eumelos drops dead - poisoned.

Philocles is convinced someone is out to sabotage the play. To find out who - and why - he must first uncover the murderer.

But in Corinth the ruling oligarchs seem more interested in commerce than justice. And with the city's religious brotherhoods pursuing their own vicious rivalries, asking the wrong questions could get an outsider like Philocles killed . . .

The second novel following the investigations of amateur sleuth Philocles in ancient Athens, perfect for fans of Steven Saylor, Lindsey Davis and CJ Sansom.

Praise for JM Alvey

'An enjoyable debut with a strong sense of its historical setting' The Times

‘Historical writing at its best and crime writing worthy of prizes’ Manda Scott

‘As vivid and lively as a Greek wedding…but with rather more blood’ Val McDermid

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
September 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
418
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SIZE
3.6
MB

More Books by JM Alvey

Other Books in This Series