Scourge of Rome

(Gaius Valerius Verrens 6): a compelling and gripping Roman adventure that will have you hooked to the very last page

    • 4.6 • 34 Ratings
    • £4.99
    • £4.99

Publisher Description

Bestselling author Douglas Jackson expertly brings the Roman Empire to life in this riveting historical adventure of fire, blood and battle. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Ben Kane and Conn Iggulden.

Readers are loving Gaius Valerius Verrens!


"Storytelling of the highest order" - 5 STARS

"Glorious Roman adventure." - 5 STARS
"The drama never lets up - it is gripping" - 5 STARS
"I'm just gutted to have finished it!" - 5 STARS
"Verrens rules, ok?" - 5 STARS

************************************************************


BETRAYED, BANISHED BUT NOT BROKEN...


70 AD: Disgraced, dishonoured and banished on pain of execution if he ever returns to Rome, Gaius Valerius Verrens makes his way East through the death and destruction of the savage Judaean rebellion. He knows his only hope of long term survival lies with his friend Titus, commander of the Army of Judaea and son of the newly crowned Emperor Vespasian.

But when he reaches the Roman camps that surround the seemingly impregnable city of Jerusalem he finds Titus a changed man. Gone is the cheerful young officer he knew; in his place, a tough, ruthless soldier under pressure from his father to end the insurrection at any cost.

Soon, Valerius finds himself at the centre of a web of intrigue spun by Titus' lover, Queen Berenice of Cilicia, and her sometime ally, the general's turncoat adviser, Flavius Josephus, who together have an ulterior motive for wanting the siege to end quickly.

Yet the laurels Valerius needs in order to regain his honour cannot be won in the tunnels that run beneath Jerusalem. Only in the heat and blood of battle can he find the glory that brought him the title Hero of Rome.

Gaius Valerius Verrens' adventures continue in Saviour of Rome.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2015
27 August
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
496
Pages
PUBLISHER
Transworld
SIZE
2.9
MB

Customer Reviews

Keevamonster ,

Great series

Another. Enthralling tale of Valerius and his Gladiator friend/ body guard. Gradient descriptions of the fighting and power of the legions

More Books by Douglas Jackson

2010
2012
2011
2013
2016
2017

Customers Also Bought

2011
2012
2018
2013
2017
2015

Other Books in This Series

2016
2017
2010
2011
2012
2013