Scourge of Rome Scourge of Rome
Book 6 - Gaius Valerius Verrens

Scourge of Rome

(Gaius Valerius Verrens 6): a compelling and gripping Roman adventure that will have you hooked to the very last page

    • 4.7 • 39 Ratings
    • £4.99
    • £4.99

Publisher Description

Bestselling author Douglas Jackson expertly brings the Roman Empire to life in this riveting historical adventure of fire, blood and battle. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Ben Kane and Conn Iggulden.

Readers are loving Gaius Valerius Verrens!


"Storytelling of the highest order" - 5 STARS

"Glorious Roman adventure." - 5 STARS
"The drama never lets up - it is gripping" - 5 STARS
"I'm just gutted to have finished it!" - 5 STARS
"Verrens rules, ok?" - 5 STARS

************************************************************


BETRAYED, BANISHED BUT NOT BROKEN...


70 AD: Disgraced, dishonoured and banished on pain of execution if he ever returns to Rome, Gaius Valerius Verrens makes his way East through the death and destruction of the savage Judaean rebellion. He knows his only hope of long term survival lies with his friend Titus, commander of the Army of Judaea and son of the newly crowned Emperor Vespasian.

But when he reaches the Roman camps that surround the seemingly impregnable city of Jerusalem he finds Titus a changed man. Gone is the cheerful young officer he knew; in his place, a tough, ruthless soldier under pressure from his father to end the insurrection at any cost.

Soon, Valerius finds himself at the centre of a web of intrigue spun by Titus' lover, Queen Berenice of Cilicia, and her sometime ally, the general's turncoat adviser, Flavius Josephus, who together have an ulterior motive for wanting the siege to end quickly.

Yet the laurels Valerius needs in order to regain his honour cannot be won in the tunnels that run beneath Jerusalem. Only in the heat and blood of battle can he find the glory that brought him the title Hero of Rome.

Gaius Valerius Verrens' adventures continue in Saviour of Rome.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2015
27 August
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
496
Pages
PUBLISHER
Transworld
SIZE
2.9
MB

Customer Reviews

Keevamonster ,

Great series

Another. Enthralling tale of Valerius and his Gladiator friend/ body guard. Gradient descriptions of the fighting and power of the legions

More Books Like This

Hammer of Rome Hammer of Rome
2018
The Wall The Wall
2022
Claudius Claudius
2009
Boudica: Dreaming The Bull Boudica: Dreaming The Bull
2010
The City The City
2022
The Falling Sword The Falling Sword
2019

More Books by Douglas Jackson

Hero of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens 1) Hero of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens 1)
2010
Defender of Rome Defender of Rome
2011
Avenger of Rome Avenger of Rome
2012
Sword of Rome Sword of Rome
2013
Saviour of Rome Saviour of Rome
2016
Enemy of Rome Enemy of Rome
2014

Customers Also Bought

Legionary Legionary
2011
Legionary: Land of the Sacred Fire (Legionary 3) Legionary: Land of the Sacred Fire (Legionary 3)
2013
Legionary: Viper of the North (Legionary 2) Legionary: Viper of the North (Legionary 2)
2012
Hibernia (Book 2 of The Veteran of Rome Series) Hibernia (Book 2 of The Veteran of Rome Series)
2015
Legionary: The Scourge of Thracia (Legionary 4) Legionary: The Scourge of Thracia (Legionary 4)
2015
Caledonia (Book 1 of The Veteran of Rome Series) Caledonia (Book 1 of The Veteran of Rome Series)
2015

Other Books in This Series

Saviour of Rome Saviour of Rome
2016
Glory of Rome Glory of Rome
2017
Hero of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens 1) Hero of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens 1)
2010
Defender of Rome Defender of Rome
2011
Avenger of Rome Avenger of Rome
2012
Sword of Rome Sword of Rome
2013