Book 1 - The Grisha

Shadow and Bone: Now a Netflix Original Series

Book 1

    • 4.2 • 466 Ratings
    • £4.49
    • £4.49

Publisher Description

See the Grishaverse come to life on screen with Shadow and Bone, now a Netflix original series.

Enter the Grishaverse with book one of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by number one New York Times-bestselling author, Leigh Bardugo. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas.


Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Orphaned and expendable, Alina Starkov is a soldier who knows she may not survive her first trek across the Shadow Fold - a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. But when her regiment is attacked, Alina unleashes dormant magic not even she knew she possessed.

Now Alina will enter a lavish world of royalty and intrigue as she trains with the Grisha, her country's magical military elite - and falls under the spell of their notorious leader, the Darkling. He believes Alina can summon a force capable of destroying the Shadow Fold and reuniting their war-ravaged country, but only if she can master her untamed gift.

As the threat to the kingdom mounts and Alina unlocks the secrets of her past, she will make a dangerous discovery that could threaten all she loves and the very future of a nation.

Welcome to Ravka . . . a world of science and superstition where nothing is what it seems.

Read all the books in the Grishaverse!

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy
(previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)
Shadow and Bone
Siege and Storm
Ruin and Rising

The Six of Crows Duology
Six of Crows
Crooked Kingdom

The King of Scars Duology
King of Scars
Rule of Wolves

The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic
The Severed Moon: A Year-Long Journal of Magic
The Lives of Saints

Praise for the Grishaverse

"A master of fantasy." -The Huffington Post
"Utterly, extremely bewitching." -The Guardian
"The best magic universe since Harry Potter." -Bustle
"This is what fantasy is for." -The New York Times Book Review
"[A] world that feels real enough to have its own passport stamp." -NPR
"The darker it gets for the good guys, the better." -Entertainment Weekly
"Sultry, sweeping and picturesque. . . . Impossible to put down." -USA Today
"There's a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo's original epic fantasy that sets it apart." -Vanity Fair
"Unlike anything I've ever read." -Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent
"Bardugo crafts a first-rate adventure, a poignant romance, and an intriguing mystery!" -Rick Riordan, bestselling author of the Percy Jackson series

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2013
6 June
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hachette Children's Group
SIZE
4.7
MB

Customer Reviews

mukeshreads ,

Brilliant fantasy YA book

I was apprehensive to purchase this book as I had read many negative reviews regarding the world building of the ‘Grishaverse.’ Despite this, I read the book and agree with the reviews to an extent. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I didn’t view the world building as underdeveloped per se. However, the reason this review is 4/5 stars as apposed to 5/5 stars is due to Alina’s character. This is my entirely subjective view, but I personally felt as if Alina complained almost entirely about her faults and how ‘weak’ she was. I would have preferred to see her develop into a beautiful and strong character which eventually does happen but gets skimmed over as no one pays attention to this character development which is rather frustrating. The book also felt slightly rushed and a better introduction to the other Grisha and their skills (especially with the Darkling) would have helped make sense of the sudden revelation which happens 2/3rds into the book. Overall, I would highly recommend this book, it had me hooked from the start!

prqe redr ,

Overall good

Much better than the show, not super heavy with lore and backstory but enough to build an interesting world

HelenFen ,

Great Read

Read this in less than 24 hours. Great story, well written.

More Books Like This

2019
2021
2012
2011
2013
2017

More Books by Leigh Bardugo

2019
2013
2014
2015
2016
2019

Customers Also Bought

2020
2018
2021
2019
2019
2017

Other Books in This Series

2013
2014