• £0.99

Publisher Description

A Lord of the Rings for the 21st century. Only a lot shorter. And funnier. And completely different.

Conor thought he was an average teenager. OK, so his father only had one hand, spoke to him in ancient languages and was a bit on the eccentric side but, other than that, life was fairly normal. Until, that is, two Celtic warriors on horseback and wearing full armour appear at his front door and try to kill him. After that, things get pretty weird.

Shadowmagic is a fantasy adventure for young adults (although grown ups will like it too). Written by one of the most popular magicians in the country it brings a fresh approach to the genre and will have a broad appeal beyond the fantasy sections.


‘If Percy Jackson were to be hurled across dimensions into Middle Earth, you might hope to see a story like this one evolve.’ Mark Robson, author of the Dragon Orb and Imperial Spy books

About the author

John Lenahan is a popular TV magician who became the first person in 85 years to be expelled from the Magic Circle. He has had a prime time BBC1 TV show called ‘Secrets Of Magic’ and also a BBC2 series ‘Stuff The White Rabbit’. He was the voice of the toaster in ‘Red Dwarf’ and has made guest appearances on numerous variety shows. He has toured with Jack Dee, Lenny Henry and Victoria Wood. Shadowmagic was an award-winning podcast novel prior to being signed to The Friday Project.

Young Adult
August 6
The Friday Project

Customer Reviews

rossod98 ,


Excellent especially good on audiobook. Highly recommend.

Love2reaf ,

A masterpiece

Read all 3 and they were all fantastic. Was hooked from the first page! Writing style is a superb witty sort of way and I also fell in love with the characters. Lots of funny moments that made me laugh out loud but also some heart breaking ones. Definitely worth reading. Would read more from this author!

Lou1954 ,


Thoroughly enjoyable read. well written , yand a diversity of characters who somehow despite the fantasy are totally credible. Looking forward to the sequel

More Books by John Lenahan

Other Books in This Series