• £0.99

Publisher Description

*Soon to be a TV series starring Oscar-award winning actor Gary Oldman as Jackson Lamb*

Shortlisted for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award

'The UK's new spy master' Sunday Times

You don't stop being a spook just because you're no longer in the game.

Banished to Slough House from the ranks of achievers at Regent's Park for various crimes of drugs and drunkenness, lechery and failure, politics and betrayal, Jackson Lamb's misfit crew of highly trained joes don't run ops, they push paper.

But not one of them joined the Intelligence Service to be a 'slow horse'.

A boy is kidnapped and held hostage. His beheading is scheduled for live broadcast on the net.

And whatever the instructions of the Service, the slow horses aren't going to just sit quiet and watch . . .

Crime & Thrillers
October 8
John Murray Press

Customer Reviews

Col. Russel ,

More than 39 Steps on the Back Stairs of MI5

It seems impertinent to review the first book in this highly acclaimed series but I cannot refrain from recommending this extraordinary book. Extraordinary because, although firmly rooted in the tradition of British spy thrillers and referencing directly and sometimes subtly many of the masters of the genre, the writer has created a group of credible and humanly flawed agents to wrestle with enemies within as well as enemies of the nation.
I’m going to read more and more and more, binge reading of quality writing, plotting and character creating, much better than binge watching formula-driven tv.

BackToBook ,

Slow Horses

First Mick Herron book I have read and now on 'catch up'! Great characters in this particular novel and the plot moves along at a nice pace. Like his style of writing.

PaulJ ,


Cynically world weary. Self-consciously obscure. Aspiring to wit and humour but destined to be a slow horse on a grey and rain swept course like the anonymous and unlikeable characters of this disappointing novel. But maybe the enthusiastic reviewers read an un-redacted version which retained the illusion of life and excitement. I shall not be tempted to continue the series.

More Books by Mick Herron

Other Books in This Series