• £4.99

Publisher Description

*** THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER AND REESE WITHERSPOON BOOKCLUB 2018 PICK! ***
The perfect couple. The perfect crime? 
 
‘Deftly paced, elegantly chilly thriller … Steadman brings similar qualities of wit, timing and intelligence to this novel… a proper page-turner’ New York Times
 
Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough; Mark a handsome investment banker with a bright future. They seem to have it all. But do they?

On a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, Mark takes Erin scuba diving. Everything is perfect. Until they find something in the water. Something that will change their lives forever. 

Erin and Mark decide to keep their discovery a secret. No one else need know; they trust each other implicitly.
 
But someone else does know. And in situations like these, it is far better to trust no one, not even those closest to you … 

Set to be the blockbuster read of the summer, this is an unmissable, fast-paced, jaw-dropping thriller from a debut writer destined for great things.
 
‘A wild, page-turning ride! It’s the perfect beach read!’ Reese Witherspoon (Reese’s Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick)

‘Worthy of Hitchcock’ Sunday Times
 
‘Pure adrenaline: I swallowed this book whole’ Erin Kelly, author of He Said, She Said
 
‘A thriller for our times’ Louise Candlish, author of Our House
 
‘A stunning debut. Superbly written, clever and gripping’ BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors
 
‘A fascinating moral dilemma’ Gillian McAllister, author of Everything but the Truth
 
‘It was the relatability of Erin's voice that set it apart from so many other thrillers as it automatically got me thinking ‘What would I do in her position?’ Caz Frear, author of Sweet Little Lies
 
 ‘A delicious page-turner’ New York Post

 ‘Catherine Steadman bursts onto the thriller scene with this exceptional debut psychological thriller, written in the vein of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn... Deftly plotted and told with lightning-quick pacing... Something in the Water is psychological suspense at its absolute finest, and Steadman has all the makings of a writer poised to shoot straight to the top of the genre' Book Spy

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
June 8
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster UK
SIZE
6.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Bird-from-hell ,

Loved it!

Fans of thriller don’t skip this one, Something in the water is a brilliant fast paced book that keeps you engaged and guessing. I found it easy to relate to the characters and you genuinely care for them and find yourself rooting for them. I was only disappointed when I finished this book as I wanted more, I certainly will be keep my eyes peeled for Steadman’s next book...

urz13 ,

Terrible plot

Unfortunately, this book fails spectacularly as the plot is just absolutely dreadful. The first 30-40% of the book is great, but after that, not so much. The ending is extremely unsatisfying and leaves many loose ends + motives unclear - not to make the reader think, but simply because of lazy writing, I feel. There are some bits of the plot which in particular are just ridiculous and so unrealistic, which completely kills off any tension.

I wanted to like it but it just fell apart once I got halfway through. Avoid :(

a small mushroom ,

Disappointing

I was so utterly underwhelmed by this book I didn’t even want to write a review, but I thought I’d put it out there to spare others having to sit through reading it.

For starters, I’m sure this will be turned into a film starring Felicity Jones as the doe-eyed, forced-sympathy-inducing protagonist, so you’ll be able to get the unmemorable story without wasting so much time on it.

The summary of this book should be “Stupid greedy white people do stupid greedy things and suffer the unsurprising consequences”, but it’s set up with that classic hook of starting the book mid-action – protagonist burying her husband’s body – to make you wonder how on Earth this could’ve happened! It hooks you and it’s only until you’ve sat through unnecessarily long and twee pinterest descriptions of The English Rain and expensive tropical holidays that you’re finally given a glimpse into the protagonists’ true, obnoxious natures that you finally understand they just had it coming.

The book is rife with upperclass cluelessness, despite the protagonist insisting she’s just an Ordinary girl about 37 times. I thought it could be satirical at one point, but the author is a wealthy actress who went to Oxford, and the book in no way effectively critiques any of the greedy, upperclass lifestyle or attitudes. I’m willing to hazard a guess that she just legitimately believes a woman who owns a 1.5 million dollar house with underfloor heating and a wine fridge wouldn’t understand that some people own private jets, because compared to Them, she’s oh-so ordinary. It feels like the book wants you to sympathise with a couple who’s acting like they’re living in actual poverty because the husband was let off from his banking job with a two-month paid leave.

At one point she mentions Germaine Greer, known for her visceral hatred of trans people, as a positive feminist influence. Oof. Anyway, the only reason I trudged through – to find out what exactly led to her burying her dead husband – was underwhelming. The very ending of the book was also a disappointment, with some random mid-book plot point brought back for no reason other than an attempt at a hard-hitting closing sentence which only managed to make me laugh in embarrassment. So many parts of this book gave me flashbacks to badly-written teenage fanfiction, and I don’t doubt many of the reasons this was ever even published have to do with the author’s power and the fact that rich white women love reading about themselves. Have a nice day and give this book a pass.

More Books by Catherine Steadman