• £3.99

Publisher Description

'Best novel. The big one . . . stands above all the others . . . beautifully written, and wonderfully elegiac, a book that I will long remember, and return to.' George R.R. Martin, author of Game of Thrones.

The New York Times Bestseller
Winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award
Longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction
National Book Awards Finalist
PEN/Faulkner Award Finalist

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel is a bold vision of a dystopian future, frighteningly real, perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale.

What was lost in the collapse: almost everything, almost everyone, but there is still such beauty.

One snowy night in Toronto famous actor Arthur Leander dies on stage whilst performing the role of a lifetime. That same evening a deadly virus touches down in North America. The world will never be the same again.

Twenty years later Kirsten, an actress in the Travelling Symphony, performs Shakespeare in the settlements that have grown up since the collapse. But then her newly hopeful world is threatened.

If civilization was lost, what would you preserve? And how far would you go to protect it?

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2014
September 10
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan
SIZE
1.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Sam The Villa Fan ,

An interweaving tapestry of delight.

Station Eleven is a artful and delightful tale of a post apocalyptic world. The characters stories are all clear and interlock in a beautiful way which captures the reduced world in which the characters reside.

Tension filled points in the book alongside stories of human existence and survival blend well to make this a real page turner.

Never feels lacking of plot or content and concludes in a way which links together human survival and artistic endeavours.

Highly recommend you make this your next read.

PeterSQ ,

Life after Death

The story weaves strands from lives before and after the apocalypse. Disturbing at times but ultimately life affirming.

Sam cornwell ,

Difficult to read.

The last two books I read were The Martian & Ready Player One. Station Eleven came recommended to me for what I should go with next.

I'm sorry to say I found Station Eleven a difficult book to read and one I felt forced to finish. The jumping of timelines and multitude of characters kept losing me. It wasn't until the last hundred pages I started to grasp the converging plots
and by then I think any hook had completely missed me.

The 'future' seemed somewhat flawed and under researched also for my liking. The world doesn't run just on oil. In fact if only 1% of humanity survived a plague there is enough infrastructure in the hydro power around Niagara Falls to keep the street lights turned on. Surely some people with the skills needed survived were able to realise this infinite resource of electricity. This bothered me throughout the book.

I appreciated the loose ends but rarely found a satisfying conclusion to any part. The prophet's role in particular was underwhelming considering his importance opposite Kirsten.

If you're reading this Emily, the parts I found most engaging were your descriptions of the new world. The immediate aftermath and gradual change was very engaging and exciting. I think you're a great writer, it's just unfortunate I'm not a great reader so couldn't take as much away from your book as so many others.

Good luck on your next novel!

More Books by Emily St. John Mandel