• £4.99

Publisher Description

Thelma Madine, star of Channel 4’s Big Fat Gypsy Weddings and fairy godmother of extravagant wedding dresses, reveals the drama, secrets and surprises involved in ten incredible traveller weddings.

Through the tales of ten elaborate gypsy wedding dresses, Thelma Madine, trusted confidante and dressmaker extraordinaire, offers a window onto the world of traveller brides and their unbelievable celebrations.

For Thelma’s young brides, a wedding dress is more than just a pretty white gown. For some it is a symbol of their fairytale-like hopes and dreams for the future, for others a mark of a long-standing friendship with a non-traveller they have welcomed into their community, and, for one small group, it is a sad reminder of day they know will never come.

With each chapter based around the secrets and incredible truths hidden behind each different dress, Thelma’s second book is packed full of fascinating new stories. By turns laugh-out-loud funny and achingly sad, and brimming with hilarious anecdotes and larger-than-life characters, Thelma’s book will amaze, amuse and entertain.

Beautifully designed and fully-illustrated throughout, it is crammed with glossy new photos, revealing never-before-seen dresses adorned with thousands of Swarovski crystals and hundreds of LED lights – an ideal gift for fans of Channel 4’s Big Fat Gypsy Weddings and Thelma’s Gypsy Girls.

About the author

Thelma Madine is the star of Channel 4’s Big Fat Gypsy Weddings and Thelma’s Gypsy Girls. She has been working with travellers for over fifteen years.

After being left with nothing after a messy divorce she started making and selling dresses on a market stall in Liverpool. One day a traveller woman asked her to make some dresses and before she knew it she had dozens of traveller women asking for the same thing, and so began her dressmaking business.

Thelma now owns Nico’s Dressmakers in Liverpool and is the designer favoured by travellers around the country, many of whom travel hundreds of miles to have her make their wedding, christening and communion dresses.

Thelma lives in Liverpool and has four children (a son and three daughters), the youngest of which still lives at home with her and her partner Dave.

GENRE
Biography
RELEASED
2012
March 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins
SIZE
21.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Haykray ,

B f g w

Nice read !
interesting to say the least

Karissea ,

Fab book

Loved the series & loved this book ... Thelma is a lovely down to earth woman salt of the earth & for me Thelma has opened a doorway between non travellers & travellers & helped them understand the cultural differences in a way we never knew highly recommend this book to everyone ..can't wait for the next book

Helen Murray ,

Tales of the gypsy dressmaker

I loved the programme and had to read the book!fab book Thelma's great she tells it how it is and pulls no punches!
Still wont reveal how much these dresses are?!!good read :)

More Books by Thelma Madine