The Bangalore Detectives Club

    • 5.0 • 1 Rating
    • £4.99
    • £4.99

Publisher Description

'The first in an effervescent new mystery series. . . a treat for historical mystery lovers looking for a new series to savor (or devour)' NEW YORK TIMES

Murder and mayhem . . . monsoon season is coming.

_____________________________

Solving crimes isn't easy.


Add a jealous mother-in-law and having to wear a flowing sari into the mix, and you've got a problem.


When clever, headstrong Kaveri moves to Bangalore to marry doctor Ramu, she's resigned herself to a quiet life.

But that all changes the night of the party at the Century Club, where she escapes to the garden for some peace - and instead spots an uninvited guest in the shadows. Half an hour later, the party turns into a murder scene.

When a vulnerable woman is connected to the crime, Kaveri becomes determined to save her and launches a private investigation to find the killer, tracing his steps from an illustrious brothel to an Englishman's mansion. She soon finds that sleuthing in a sari isn't as hard as it seems when you have a talent for maths, a head for logic and a doctor for a husband.

And she's going to need them all as the case leads her deeper into a hotbed of danger, sedition and intrigue in Bangalore's darkest alleyways . . .

BOOK ONE IN THE BANGALORE DETECTIVES CLUB SERIES

INCLUDES A BONUS CHAPTER OF DELICIOUS INDIAN RECIPES

___________

'A gorgeous debut mystery with a charming and fearless sleuth . . . spellbinding' SUJATA MASSEY

'Told with real warmth and wit. . . A perfect read for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Vaseem Khan' ABIR MUKHERJEE

'A cosy mystery that warmly illuminates a time and place not often examined in fiction' VASEEM KHAN

'A beautifully painted picture of a woman's life in 1920s India' M W CRAVEN

'A delight' CATRIONA MCPHERSON

'The classic whodunnit with the added appeal of a female sleuth in Colonial India. . . fascinating'
RHYS BOWEN

'Told with real warmth and wit. . . Nagendra has created an intricate and fiendish mystery... A perfect read for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Vaseem Khan' - ABIR MUKHERJEE

'Riveting. [Nagendra's] use of colonial history is thoroughly fascinating, with devastating depictions of the airy condescension of the British. A fine start to a promising series' BOOKLIST Starred Review

'Harini Nagendra takes us to a wonderfully unfamiliar world in this delightful debut mystery. . .I couldn't put it down' VICTORIA THOMPSON

'Absolutely charming . . . this one is a winner!' CONNIE BERRY

'An enjoyable trip back in time with a spunky young woman for company.' R V RAMAN

'Mouth-watering fashion and food set against simmering colonial intrigue in this delicious whodunit can be devoured in one sitting.' SUMI HAHN

'I loved The Bangalore Detectives Club . . . Kaveri especially is charming.' OVIDIA YU

'Nagendra makes her fiction debut with an exceptional series launch. . . rich, edifying, and authentic' Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

'Deliciously exotic' Sunday Post

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2022
28 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
Little, Brown Book Group
SIZE
2.3
MB

More Books by Harini Nagendra

2023
2009

Customers Also Bought

2016
2021

Other Books in This Series