The Boy and the Dog The Boy and the Dog

The Boy and the Dog

    • 5.0 • 1 Rating
    • £4.99
    • £4.99

Publisher Description

The new novel from the award-winning translator of Sweet Bean Paste

Winner of the Naoki Prize

Winner of the Society of Authors Sasakawa Foundation Prize 

Perfect for fans of The Guest Cat and Before the Coffee Gets Cold 


'It’s no wonder the author won the prestigious Naoki Prize for this novel, which is at times heartwarming and suspenseful, detailing true resilience and survival.' Belfast Telegraph

'Everyone, please read this English translation and keep a handkerchief nearby.’ Nozomi Abe, Sasakawa Prize judge

One dog changes the life of everyone who takes him in on his journey to reunite with his first owner in this inspiring tribute to the bond between humans and dogs and the life-affirming power of connection.

Following a devastating earthquake and tsunami, a young man in Japan finds a stray dog outside a convenience store. The dog’s tag says “Tamon,” a name evocative of the guardian deity of the north. The man decides to keep Tamon, becoming the first in a series of owners as the dog journeys south to find the boy whom disaster tore him from.
 
Over the course of five years, Tamon will be taken into six vastly different homes, the final one belonging to his beloved first owner, Hikaru, a boy who has not spoken since the trauma of the tsunami. An agent of fate, Tamon is a gift to everyone who welcomes him into their life.

At once heart-rending and heart-warming, intimate and panoramic, suspenseful and luminous, this bestselling, award-winning novel weaves a feel-good tale of survival, resilience, and love beyond measure.

“Heartrending . . . Powerfully demonstrates how love and loyalty can overcome obstacles . . . and how a dog’s love can save a person in every possible way.”  Booklist

“Affecting . . . Moving . . . Never feels sentimental or overdrawn . . . [Seishu Hase] proves himself a gifted storyteller.” Publishers Weekly

“Heartbreakingly moving in its simplicity . . . A touching meditation on shining lights in the face of trauma and hopelessness.” Kirkus Reviews

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2022
27 October
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Scribner UK
SIZE
6.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Teighen ,

Happy I was told about this book

Despite how it was an endless cycle of sadness it was such a heart wrenching book and I was so happy for Tamon to get to Hikaru and I would advise to anyone to read this book 🥹 If it was for dogs existing I don’t know where most of the world would be.

More Books Like This

Three Bargains: A Novel Three Bargains: A Novel
2014
The Eyes in the Dark The Eyes in the Dark
2014
He Who Fears the Wolf He Who Fears the Wolf
2008
Elefant Elefant
2018
Darshan Darshan
2013
Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Retribution Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Retribution
2014

More Books by Seishu Hase

Le chien qui voulait voir le sud Le chien qui voulait voir le sud
2024
El chico y el perro El chico y el perro
2024
Tamons Geschichte Tamons Geschichte
2022

Customers Also Bought

The Islands The Islands
2022
Those Who Perish Those Who Perish
2022
Infinite Splendours Infinite Splendours
2020
The Labyrinth: Winner of the 2021 Miles Franklin Literary Award The Labyrinth: Winner of the 2021 Miles Franklin Literary Award
2020
Bruny Bruny
2019
The Promise The Promise
2021