The Boyfriend

The Addictive Holiday Thriller with a Killer Twist

    • 3.7 • 90 Ratings
    • £3.99
    • £3.99

Publisher Description

He loves you.
He loves you not.


Amy is fiercely independent, with a high-powered career, a flat of her own and tight-knit friendships. But as she approaches her thirtieth birthday, she can’t help but rue the one thing she doesn’t have – a relationship.

When Amy comes around following a serious fall, she doesn’t remember anything from the last six months. Not even the upcoming skiing holiday at her aunt’s luxurious chalet in Val d’Isère with her mum and best friends to celebrate her birthday. And she certainly doesn’t remember being swept off her feet by the handsome Dr Jack Stewart . . .

Jack is the full package – charming, caring and devoted to Amy. Everyone is smitten with him, but as the week goes on, Amy begins to find Jack’s presence chilling. Is her broken mind playing tricks? Or is the perfect boyfriend really too good to be true?

For fans of The Chalet and The Hunting Party, The Boyfriend is a twisting anti-love story that will keep you guessing with every page, by Michelle Frances, author of the number one bestselling sensation The Girlfriend.

***

PRAISE FOR MICHELLE FRANCES

I tore through the pages . . . A high-speed chase of a novel’ – Louise Candlish

‘Michelle Frances manages to bring fresh energy to this age-old theme of family secrets . . . The finale doesn't disappoint’ – Daily Mail

Toxic family relationships, sultry European settings and an intricate plot which leaves you never knowing who to trust’ – Catherine Cooper, author of The Chalet

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2022
6 January
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
432
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan
SIZE
1
MB

Customer Reviews

LMDReads ,

Good premise, disappointing ending!

First half left you wanting to keep reading on. However, the same can’t be said for the ending… lacklustre. Loved The Girlfriend but The Boyfriend was just, well, disappointing at best.

Tinks24 ,

A hugely addictive, twisty and chilling read!

Drawn in by the amazing front cover of this book, followed by the intriguing blurb, I knew this would be a book I’d enjoy. Hooked within the first few pages, I struggled to put this one down and enjoyed every bit of the story, with fantastic twists and turns throughout and an unexpected ending, this book gets five big stars from me!

Amy wakes in the hospital to find out she’s had a fall and sustained a head injury. Not only can she not remember the fall, but the last six months are a complete blur too. As far as Amy is concerned, she is single, so it comes as a bit of a shock to her when she finds out that she is in a relationship. Hunky doctor Jack Stewart is the dream man that Amy had been searching for, what a shame she can’t remember him or how they met.

Upon being discharged from the hospital Amy also learns she is due to go on holiday for her 30th birthday to the French Alps with her mum and two best friends. The doctors give her the go-ahead to travel and Amy hopes this might be the relaxing break she needs to help recover her memory. Unfortunately, the snow is not the only chilling thing on this trip, and as Amy starts to remember snippets from the past few months, the story takes a shocking twisty turn!

Oh, I do love reading a chiller thriller, especially at this time of year. I’ve never been to the Alps or anywhere very snowy but the description of the setting in this book made me feel as if I’d just walked through the wardrobe to Narnia. The story itself was incredibly gripping and whilst I thought I knew where it was heading there was still an element of doubt throughout and lots of shocking twists that I did not expect.

The characters were all brilliant and I didn’t trust any of them, not even Amy’s mum and especially not her new, almost too good to be true, boyfriend Jack!

Amy’s amnesia was described so well in the story, that I felt her brain fog myself. I couldn’t work out if what Amy remembered was real or her mind playing tricks on her. I have read a few books where the main character has some form of amnesia, but this is one of the best.

I thought I had the ending sussed but it took a turn I did not expect, which was awesome and had me wanting more! I feel a sequel could be possible!

Lady claret 1 ,

The boyfriend

Waited for this book and what a disappointment
The Girlfriend was the first book I read by the author and it was amazing unfortunately this book doesn't live up to it

More Books by Michelle Frances

2017
2018
2019
2020
2018
2017