• £3.99

Publisher Description

An unforgettable story of two women linked by their roles in a tragedy at the end of the Victorian era, THE BUTTERFLY CABINET by Bernie McGill will appeal to fans of THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX or THE SUSPICIONS OF MR WHICHER, and was singled out by Julian Fellowes as his Book of the Year in the Guardian.

On a remote estate in the north of Ireland, a little girl dies, and the community is quick to condemn her mother, Harriet Ormond. Now, after seventy years, Maddie McGlade, a former nanny at the house, knows the time has come to reveal her own role in the events of that day.

From Maddie's reminiscences and Harriet's long-concealed diaries emerges an unforgettable story of motherhood and betrayal, and of two women, mistress and servant, inextricably connected by an extraordinary secret.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2011
February 20
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
208
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SIZE
2.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Garrymcelherron ,

The Butterfly Cabinet

I was not sure i was going to enjoy this book or not. I am a man for a start and in my ignorance thought this to be for a female only audience. I know that might sound sexist but i am only being honest.
However I could not have been more wrong. This is masterpiece of prose. Highly accomplished and classical. Each character presents themselves with such a full bodied dynamism that I got caught up in each of their lives.
The narrative is gripping, made even more so by the digressions and misdirections of each inhabitant of the house.
I am not used to reading such passionate prose and there are phrases that will stay with me for some time. To read about birth, deceit and death, to hate the murderess then to finally understand her. To see interconnections I could never have imagined. The work of a great author.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

More Books by Bernie McGill