• £2.99

Publisher Description

A deadly killer stalks the streets of Victorian London...

The Cater Street Hangman is the opening novel in Anne Perry's bestselling Victorian crime series, introducing us to her acclaimed characters Inspector Thomas Pitt and Charlotte Ellison. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart.

'Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out' - New York Times Book Review

A killer is strangling young women in Cater Street, leaving their swollen-faced bodies in the dark shadows of this genteel neighbourhood. When the Ellison family's maid becomes the murderer's third victim, young Inspector Thomas Pitt is assigned to the case. He must break through the walls of upper-class society to get at the truth, and his investigation gradually peels away its veneer, exposing secrets and desires until suspicion becomes more frightening than truth.

Outspoken Charlotte Ellison, struggling to remain within the confining expectations of Victorian manners, has no trouble expressing herself to the irritating policeman. As their relationship shifts from antagonism to something more complicated, Thomas and Charlotte must work together to solve the mystery before the Cater Street hangman strikes again.

What readers are saying about The Cater Street Hangman:

'I love reading Anne Perry - her description of Victorian life conjures up lifelike images and you really feel you are there'

'Engrossing murder mystery'

'You have a treat ahead of you as the rich characters expand and evolve'

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2015
March 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SIZE
2.6
MB

More Books by Anne Perry

Other Books in This Series