• £3.99

Publisher Description

The Chill of Night is James Hayman's second instalment in his McCabe and Savage series.

A frozen corpse means a big headache for Detective Michael McCabe
Lainie Goff thinks she has it all. A glamorous young Portland attorney with the brains and looks to match her ambitions, she's on the fast-track to a partnership. Until one cold winter night she discovers that her belief in her ability to handle any situation was misplaced. Now she's just a frozen corpse in the boot of a car at the end of Portland Fish Pier.

And a problem for homicide detective Michael McCabe.
Luckily for McCabe, there's a witness. A mentally disturbed young woman named Abby Quinn saw what happened to Lainie. Unfortunately, Abby mysteriously goes missing the very same night. With a victim who'd known more than her share of bad guys, a list of suspects that seems to get longer and longer and his only witness missing, McCabe has got his work cut out.
But it's only a matter of time before the killer strikes again . . .

Following the success of the first instalment The Cutting, The Chill of Night continues to follow Detective McCabe as he solves Portland's crimes. Fans of Harlan Coben and Michael Connelly will be hooked.

Praise for James Hayman:
'A stunning debut that gripped me from first page to last. A thriller of a thriller!' Tess Gerritsen
'Supremely accomplished storytelling' Daily Mail
'Taut, suspenseful . . . every bit as dark and sinister as Lehane and Connelly' Richard Montanari

James Hayman spent more than twenty years as a senior creative director at one of New York's largest advertising agencies. He and his wife now live in Portland, Maine. This is his third novel.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2012
March 29
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
432
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Books Ltd
SIZE
1.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Jamess91 ,

Jamess

Good and deep engaging story. I red the whole book within 3 days, pretty fast as I was craving the next pages of the book to find out what happens next. You will get suprised at the end of it finding out the real truth :). I recommend to anyone who likes books making you goosebums :)

Joshpagett1994 ,

Brilliant!

A brilliant, gripping and thrilling book right from page one!

More Books by James Hayman