The Deep Blue Goodbye The Deep Blue Goodbye
Travis McGee 1 - Travis McGee

The Deep Blue Goodbye

(Travis McGee: 1): introducing the inspiration behind a genre: Travis McGee, from the grandmaster of American crime fiction

    • 3.8 • 23 Ratings
    • £4.99
    • £4.99

Publisher Description

The edge-of-your-seat thriller that was so good it inspired a generation of crime writers. Well-paced, intelligently written and with a penchant for characterisation, this series is not one to miss. Perfect for fans of Lee Child, James Patterson and John Grisham.

'MacDonald had a huge influence on me . . . Reacher is like a fully detached version of Travis McGee' - LEE CHILD


'The great entertainer of our age, and a mesmerizing storyteller' - STEPHEN KING


'To diggers a thousand years from now, the works of John D. MacDonald would be a treasure on the order of the tomb of Tutankhamen.' - KURT VONNEGUT


********************************************************


Travis McGee isn't your typical knight in shining armour. He only works when his cash runs out, and his rule is simple: He'll help you find whatever was taken from you, as long as he can keep half.


Travis McGee isn't particularly strapped for cash, but how can anyone say no to Cathy, a sweet girl who's been tortured repeatedly by her manipulative ex-boyfriend Junior Allen? What Travis isn't anticipating is just how many women Junior has torn apart and left in his wake.

As Travis hunts for the ruthless man who steals women's sensibilities and livelihoods, he can't guess how violent his quest is soon to become.

He'll learn the hard way that there must be casualties in this game of cat and mouse...

Featuring an introduction by Lee Child.

Further Praise for the Travis McGee series:

'The consummate pro, a master storyteller and witty observer . . . The Travis McGee novels are among the finest works of fiction ever penned by an American author and they retain a remarkable sense of freshness' - Jonathan Kellerman

'Travis McGee is my favourite fiction detective. He's great because he has a philosophical side - he will fight a bunch of mobsters in a car park and then have a muse about life, the universe and everything' - Tony Parsons

'A dominant influence on writers crafting the continuing series character . . . I envy the generation of readers just discovering Travis McGee' - Sue Grafton

'. . . my favorite novelist of all time' - Dean Koontz

'A master storyteller, a masterful suspense writer . . . John D. MacDonald is a shining example for all of us in the field' - Mary Higgins Clark

'What a joy that these timeless and treasured novels are available again' - Ed McBain

'There's only one thing as good as reading a John D. MacDonald novel: reading it again . . . He is the all-time master of the American mystery novel' - John Saul

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2013
11 April
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Transworld
SIZE
6.9
MB

More Books Like This

Travis McGee: Books 1-3 Travis McGee: Books 1-3
2013
The Malfeasance Occasional The Malfeasance Occasional
2013
Death of the Marked Death of the Marked
2013
The Second Murderer The Second Murderer
2023
Death of a Blood Death of a Blood
2015
A Murder Too Personal (for fans of James Patterson, David Baldacci and Michael Connelly) A Murder Too Personal (for fans of James Patterson, David Baldacci and Michael Connelly)
2011

More Books by John D. MacDonald

Travis McGee: Books 1-3 Travis McGee: Books 1-3
2013
A Nightmare in Pink A Nightmare in Pink
2013
One Fearful Yellow Eye : Introduction by Lee Child One Fearful Yellow Eye : Introduction by Lee Child
2013
Darker than Amber: Introduction by Lee Child Darker than Amber: Introduction by Lee Child
2013
The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper: Introduction by Lee Child The Girl in the Plain Brown Wrapper: Introduction by Lee Child
2013
Travis McGee: Books 4-6 Travis McGee: Books 4-6
2013

Customers Also Bought

The Ranger The Ranger
2013
The Black Art of Killing The Black Art of Killing
2020
The Judas Goat (A Spenser Mystery) The Judas Goat (A Spenser Mystery)
2013
God Save the Child (A Spenser Mystery) God Save the Child (A Spenser Mystery)
2013
The Heathens The Heathens
2021
The Shameless The Shameless
2019

Other Books in This Series

A Nightmare in Pink A Nightmare in Pink
2013
A Purple Place for Dying A Purple Place for Dying
2013
The Quick Red Fox The Quick Red Fox
2013
A Deadly Shade of Gold: Introduction by Lee Child A Deadly Shade of Gold: Introduction by Lee Child
2013
Bright Orange for the Shroud: Introduction by Lee Child Bright Orange for the Shroud: Introduction by Lee Child
2013
Darker than Amber: Introduction by Lee Child Darker than Amber: Introduction by Lee Child
2013