• £1.99

Publisher Description

‘Sometimes we can’t see what’s right in front of us, Kat. Everyone has secrets, even the people we love, the people we live with…’


Kat remembers the days when her only daughter Amy wouldn't leave her side. Amy was the baby who cried when you walked out of the room, the toddler who was too shy to speak to strangers, the small child who clung to Kat's legs in the school playground.


But now Amy is grown up, and Amy is gone – to university in a town several hours away. Kat's house – which once felt too full, too noisy, too busy – is deathly quiet, and Kat awaits the daily phone call to tell her that her beloved daughter is thriving and happy.


Until the day Amy doesn’t call, sending Kat into a panic. Her husband and friends say she’s being paranoid – surely Amy is just out, having fun? But Kat feels sure something is very wrong – she knows her daughter, and she would never just disappear.


As the hours turn into days, her fears are confirmed: Amy is missing. But there are secrets about her daughter that Kat doesn't know about yet. And the truth about Amy's whereabouts may be closer to home than Kat could ever imagine...


A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster and an ending that will blow readers’ minds. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl Before and Gone Girl will be gripped by this unputdownable story about a mother’s obsessive love for her child.


Readers are loving The Empty Nest:

OMGI couldn’t believe the ending and what truly happened to Kat’s daughter. There were so many twists and turns in this book but the ending blew my mind.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Wow I never saw that ending!... A huge rollercoaster of events that will keep you enthralled right to the end!... Great read.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

A full on, straight into it thriller, with a banging twist and a satisfying end! A quickfire ever changing story of who has done what and why… It had me foxed and I got it completely wrong… So well written, full of drama and just a perfect read. 10/10.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


What an amazing book. I couldn't put it down. Had my attention from start to finish… Just when I thought I had it figured out I was proven wrong.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘A compulsively readable mystery that kept me fully engrossed and turning pages long into the night. This is a twisty thriller that kept me guessing right up until the final page… Brilliantly executedThoroughly addictive.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘I was so gobsmackedThe Empty Nest is a story steeped in secrets and lies. The suspense and tension surrounding Amy’s disappearance builds up wonderfully and had me totally hooked, tearing through the pages to see just what had happened to her.’ By the Letter Book Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


An addictive, suspenseful thriller that kept me on the edge of my seat from start to finish… This story is filled with lies, betrayal, and shocking secrets. The author does a wonderful job building the tension and the ending was clever and satisfying. I highly recommend this twisty thriller.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘This book was fast paced. Hard to put down. It flowed well and it was very well written. It caught hold of me and had me hooked from the start. I was literally on the edge of my seat reading this book.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐


Sue Watson is an amazing storyteller… She perfectly wove together a web of lies, paranoia, deceit, and friendship that created a rollercoaster of a ride from start to finish. This really is such a compulsive read, building the tension and a brilliant ending… A real unputdownable book.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Keeps the reader guessing as to what happened.... Each time you think you know where the story is going, something changes… Very difficult to put down.’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A brilliant addictive psychological thriller, full of twists and turns… It kept me on the edge of my seat throughout… Compulsive reading.’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2019
November 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
390
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SIZE
3.8
MB

Customer Reviews

Yes O Yes ,

I loved this one

This story centred around Kat and her daughter Amy who has just started university. Amy has always had a very close relationship with her mother and when she doesn’t show up on a planned weekend home Kat is frantic . Amy doesn’t answer her phone ,hasn’t text or been active on her social media which leaves Kat imaging the worst. Everyone around Kat feels she is overreacting but eventually they too begin to become concerned when no one can contact Amy.

The empty nest is an addictive page turner. Anyone who has experienced their child leaving for university can relate to the worries that their new found freedom brings.

As Kats quest to find her daughter intensifies the fact that she may not know her daughter as well as she thought is evident. Kat also has her own secrets from the past but do they have any bearing on her daughters disappearance.?

Although I found this book a little slow to begin with it soon had me hooked and the excellent characters and fantastic storyline made up for its slow start. The twists along the way were fantastic and I found they kept me guessing right until the end. One minute I thought I had the plot figured out only to find I was completely wrong .

Two of my closest friends have just left their children at university recently and the emotions and empty nest syndrome they have experienced are so well portrayed in this book . I would throughly recommend this book (maybe not to the empty nesters yet for a while!!) Thank you to Sue Watson , the publishers and netgalley for my chance to read this fantastic thriller

More Books by Sue Watson