The Girl From the Workhouse The Girl From the Workhouse
Book 1 - The Potteries Girls

The Girl From the Workhouse

A heart-breaking, emotional family saga

    • 4.7 • 10 Ratings

Publisher Description

‘an emotional, captivating read which is perfect for anyone who loves a good saga!Over The Rainbow Book Blog

Even in the darkest of times, she never gave up hope

Staffordshire, 1911. Ginnie Jones’s childhood is spent in the shadow of the famous Potteries, living with her mother, father and older sister Mabel. But with Father’s eyesight failing, money is in short supply, and too often the family find their bellies aching with hunger. With no hope in sight, Ginnie is sent to Haddon Workhouse.

Separated from everything she has known, Ginnie has to grow up fast, earning her keep by looking after the other children with no families of their own. When she meets Clara and Sam, she hopes that she has made friends for life… until tragedy strikes, snatching away her newfound happiness.

Leaving Haddon three years later, Ginnie finds work as a mouldrunner at the Potteries, but never stops thinking about her friends in the workhouse – especially Sam, now a caring, handsome young man. When Sam and Ginnie are reunited, their bond is as strong as ever – until Sam is sent to fight in WW1. Faced with uncertainty, can Ginnie find the joy that she’s never had? Or will her heart be broken once again?

An emotional, uplifting and nostalgic family saga that will make you smile, while tugging on your heart-strings. Fans of Sheila Newberry Kitty Neale and Sheila Riley will love this beautiful read.

Readers are loving The Girl from the Workhouse:

‘A poignant, emotional and heart-wrenching read…best read with a box of tissues handy’ Bookish Jottings

‘This truly was a fabulous story from beginning to end and I struggled to put it down!... richly detailed, beautifully written and the storyline along with the characters was enthralling’ Rose is Reading

heartbreaking, emotive and well researched…This is an easy,enjoyable and informative read, recommended for lovers of historical fiction.’ Waggy Tales

I highly recommend reading this and being transported back in time. An excellent historical fiction that had me compulsively turning the pages.’ Books and Bookends

Overall, I loved it. There were lots of moments that
made me gasp and others that almost made me cry, and then there were those that made me smile and sigh.’ Jess Bookish Life

heartwarming and emotional. I absolutely love the story line…I really enjoyed the setting and the characters. If you enjoy historical fiction, this is definitely a book to read!’ Jessica Belmont Book Reviews

I’m quite astonished this is a debut novel… The characters came alive on the page, and it’s a fully rounded story… A fabulous readGrace J Reviewerlady

‘an emotional, captivating read which is perfect for anyone who loves a good saga!... a fantastic read that quickly drew me into the story and kept my interest throughout with its fabulous plot.’
Over The Rainbow Book Blog

Ginnie is a likeable character from the off… I cried at some of the heartache she saw, and was so pleased with every small moment of happiness. You won’t be able to put this one down.’ Jennifer C Wilson

‘the author winds her story around your person and snares your heart… Though filled with much darkness and despair, there is also hope and loveInsatiable Readers

Johnson has a Cookson flair…she does capture the heart and soul of her characters.’ Cheryl M-M Book Reviews

‘a step back in time with a young protagonist who pulled on my heart strings…The friendship between her and Sam was especially
heartwarming. I really enjoyed my first introduction to this author’ By The Letter Book Reviews

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
18 February
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
446
Pages
PUBLISHER
Hera
SIZE
990
KB

More Books Like This

The Children's Hour The Children's Hour
2010
Take these Broken Wings Take these Broken Wings
2010
Poppy Day Poppy Day
2011
The Nightingale Sisters The Nightingale Sisters
2013
Secrets of the Homefront Girls Secrets of the Homefront Girls
2019
Polly of Penn's Place Polly of Penn's Place
2012

More Books by Lynn Johnson

Wartime with the Tram Girls Wartime with the Tram Girls
2021
The Potteries Girls on the Home Front The Potteries Girls on the Home Front
2022
Toxic Planet Toxic Planet
2018
A New Day at Paradise Pottery A New Day at Paradise Pottery
2023
Love Gone Wrong Love Gone Wrong
2020
The Adventure The Adventure
2009

Customers Also Bought

The Convict's Wife The Convict's Wife
2022
A Mother's Fight A Mother's Fight
2022
Welcome to Weaver Street Welcome to Weaver Street
2022
The Mersey Girls The Mersey Girls
2020
New Neighbours for Coronation Close New Neighbours for Coronation Close
2023
Hard Times on Weaver Street Hard Times on Weaver Street
2023

Other Books in This Series

Wartime with the Tram Girls Wartime with the Tram Girls
2021
The Potteries Girls on the Home Front The Potteries Girls on the Home Front
2022
A New Day at Paradise Pottery A New Day at Paradise Pottery
2023