The Girl on the Platform

Based on a true story, a totally heartbreaking, epic and gripping World War 2 page-turner

    • 4.0 • 1 Rating
    • £1.99
    • £1.99

Publisher Description

“Amazing… So heart-wrenching. The fact that it is a true story tears at your heartstrings, so reading with a box of Kleenex is a must… Such a phenomenal story… Will continue to resonate in me for a very long time… Wonderful, phenomenal must-read!” PageTurners, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Be brave. Don’t run. Fight.” With her eyes tightly shut, tears rolling from under her dark lashes, she felt his lips gently touch her burning cheek. The train on the platform whistled, and he disappeared into the steam. 

 

Berlin, 1939: Libby is determined to start a new life––as far away as possible from her family and their alliance with the Nazis. But in the city, there’s no escape from Hitler’s brutal regime. And when Libby’s friend vanishes into thin air, she cannot stand back and do nothing…

 

And then Libby meets Harro and her world tips upside down as they fall desperately in love. But she knows there’s a story behind his cornflower-blue eyes. The whip marks on his back, scars from the SS, tell his secret: he is a resistance fighter.

 

Harro draws Libby into the world of the resistance, and their life grows increasingly dangerous as they do everything they can to bring about Hitler’s downfall. With each risk they take, Libby is terrified of losing Harro––how will she live without him?

 

Libby starts to believe that the Gestapo is stalking them––their every move watched, their phone calls recorded. And one day, Harro simply disappears. Her worst nightmare has come true, and she knows that it is just a matter of time before she’s next.

 

Will they live to see each other once again? Or will everything they’ve risked be in vain?

 

Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Alice Network and The Lilac Girls will be utterly gripped by this heartbreaking page-turner. Based on a true story, this beautiful novel shows that even when our freedom is stolen, we still have a choice…

 

Readers love The Girl on the Platform:

 

I LOVED ITAmazing… An unputdownable, heart-wrenching, absolutely beautifully devastating story.’ Bookwork86, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Well, what can I say but wow!!! This story is definitely not going to leave my head anytime soon. Firstly, I must congratulate Ellie Midwood for yet another extraordinary novel that seriously needs to be made into a movie which I assure would be best-selling!!! This book is very powerful and extremely well written. It is devastatingly heartbreaking and beautiful at the same time… It is absolutely rammed with emotions that will make you smile, cry and laugh.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Wow! I finished this with a tear in my eye and a lump in my throat––it was so very movingStunning.” Nicki’s Book Blog, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“I absolutely adored this book! I could not put it down, probably the fastest I have ever read a bookPerfect An emotional read that I absolutely adored! Top marks.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Phew! This book grabs you by the collarI loved it!Brilliant.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“This book was breathtaking, truly a masterpiece of historical fiction… One of the best books I have read this year. It was so inspirational and so heartbreaking that at times I actually just had to stop reading and hold the book to my chest in an almost-hug, just to take a moment. Will stay in my heart for a long time to come.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Will tug on all your heartstrings!!” @hadassah.s

 

“Incredible… An astonishing story… Amazing... Heartbreaking… One that needed to be told and one that will not soon be forgotten.” Robin Loves Reading, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Fascinating I found I couldn’t put it down.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“An incredible story… One I will not forget.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“Ellie Midwood has done it again… She has penned an astonishing story…  Heartbreaking.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

“I needed a few days to put together my thoughts for this book. So complex. So beautiful. So tragic.” Goodreads reviewer

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
13 October
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
371
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SIZE
2.3
MB

More Books by Ellie Midwood

2018
2022
2022
2022
2022
2022

Customers Also Bought

2022
2021
2022
2020
2020
2022