The Girls Who Disappeared

The No 1 bestselling Richard & Judy pick from the author of The Couple at No 9

    • 3.8 • 36 Ratings
    • £4.99
    • £4.99

Publisher Description

THE NO. 1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER AND RICHARD & JUDY PICK FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE COUPLE AT NO 9

'Clever. Gripping. Terrifically compelling. Kept me glued to the page' SARAH PEARSE
'Eerie, spine-tingling. Douglas is a master storyteller. The perfect immersive read'
JANICE HALLETT
'Douglas is the queen of the unexpected twist, and this is her best wrongfooting yet'
GILLIAN MCALLISTER
'A deliciously dark, captivating and twisty mystery from the Queen of Gripping Pageturners' CL TAYLOR
_________

THREE GIRLS MISSING

Twenty years ago, Olivia Rutherfood crashed her car while driving home with three friends.
When she regained consciousness, she was alone - her friends had vanished.

THEY WERE NEVER SEEN AGAIN

Now, journalist Jenna Halliday visits the town where it happened, determined to unlock the girls' disappearance.

But Olivia won't speak. And as Jenna probes further, the locals grow frightened . . .

How many secrets can one small town hide?
_________

'Clever . . . Adventurous . . . Fans of Douglas's bestseller, The Couple at No 9, will enjoy her particularly lively female characters and twisty plot' DAILY MAIL

'Moody, menacing and gothic . . . A chillingly atmospheric thriller' JP DELANEY

'A fabulous book. Brilliantly plotted, heart-wrenchingly emotional, and with a central premise to die for. This delivered by the armful. I loved it!' GYTHA LODGE

'I was hooked from the first page and turned the last with my head reeling at the fiendishly clever ending. Atmospheric, haunting and endlessly surprising, I loved it' EVE CHASE

'Absorbing, atmospheric . . . A tense, spine-chilling mystery' GILLY MACMILLAN

READERS ARE GRIPPED BY THE GIRLS WHO DISAPPEARED:

'Totally gripping from start to finish, twists and turns galore' 5***** READER REVIEW

'I was gripped from the very beginning' 5***** READER REVIEW

'Another great keep-you-guessing read from a fabulous author' 5***** READER REVIEW

'It's getting harder and harder for thrillers to shock, but this one hit the mark. Fantastic' 5***** READER REVIEW

'A gripping story which kept me awake last night as I had to finish reading it!' 5***** READER REVIEW

'Masterful' 5***** READER REVIEW

Praise for Claire Douglas

'Devotees of domestic noir will love the multiple perspectives and shifts in time that Claire Douglas uses to complicate her nervy narrative' Sunday Times Crime Club
'Few people do psychological thrillers as claustrophobic and as creepy as Claire Douglas' Tim Weaver
'A gripping page-turner' Jane Fallon
'Smart and atmospheric' Gillian McAllister
'Spine-chilling' Sunday Times
'Intriguing. Twisting. Surprising. Touching' Dorothy Koomson
'Twisty, nail-biting and utterly absorbing' Louise O'Neill
'Claire is a mistress at weaving the reader into a web of domestic deceit' Jane Corry
'The perfect gripping holiday read' Lesley Pearse
'Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train' Marie Claire

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2022
15 September
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Books Ltd
SIZE
1.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Jsjdjdjbe ,

Great

I found this book gripping and enjoyed unraveling the story with the main characters, I felt the main twist was a bit flat but I still really enjoyed the read nonetheless. I would recommend.

Shellluca ,

Gripping

Good read very gripping; twists and turns

More Books by Claire Douglas

2021
2017
2019
2015
2016
2017