• £3.99

Publisher Description

For a fellow like Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, who despises the French worse than the Devil hates Holy Water, it's hellish-hard to gain a reputation for saving them not once but twice!


Back in England for the first time in two years, there are honours from the Crown for gallant service . . . a lot more than he expected from King George III, who was having a bad morning, then a chance to move in Society after an introduction to an intriguing daughter of a peer.

But then come secret orders to experiment with several types of 'infernal engines of war,' which might delay or postpone the dreaded cross-Channel invasion by Napoleon Bonaparte, his huge army, and his thousands of invasion craft. For the rest of 1804, Alan Lewrie and his crew of the Reliant frigate will deal with things more dangerous to them than they may prove to be to the French!


Number seventeen in The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, The Invasion Year is perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Julian Stockwin and C.S. Forester.


‘You could get addicted to this series. Easily’ New York Times Book Review


'The best naval series since C. S. Forester… Recommended’ Library Journal


‘Fast-moving… A hugely likeable hero, a huge cast of sharply drawn supporting characters: there's nothing missing. Wonderful stuff’ Kirkus Reviews

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
February 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
300
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SIZE
532.5
KB

More Books by Dewey Lambdin

Other Books in This Series