The Kaiju Preservation Society The Kaiju Preservation Society

The Kaiju Preservation Society

Shortlisted for the 2023 Hugo Award for Best Novel

    • 4.2 • 27 Ratings
    • £5.99
    • £5.99

Publisher Description

Shortlisted for the 2023 Hugo Award for Best Novel

Jurassic Park meets Parks & Recreation in The Kaiju Preservation Society by John Scalzi – a thrilling, fast-paced adventure set on an alternate Earth.

‘John Scalzi is the most entertaining, accessible writer working in SF today’ – Joe Hill, author of The Fireman

They're big, they're bad and they're about to become extinct . . .

Jamie’s dream was to hit the big time at a New York tech start-up. Jamie’s reality was a humiliating lay-off, then a low-wage job as a takeaway delivery driver. During a pandemic too. Things look beyond grim, until a chance delivery to an old acquaintance. Tom has an urgent vacancy on his team: the pay is great and Jamie has debts – it’s a no-brainer choice. Yet, once again, reality fails to match expectations. Only this time it could be fatal.

It seems Tom’s ‘animal rights organization’ is way more than it appears. The animals aren’t even on Earth – or not our Earth, anyway. In an alternate dimension, massive dinosaur-like creatures roam a tropical, human-free world. And although Kaiju are their universe’s largest and most dangerous animal, they need support to survive.

Tom’s ‘Kaiju Preservation Society’ wants to help. However, others want to profit. Unless they’re stopped, the walls between our worlds could fall – and the consequences would be devastating.

Perfect for fans of Adrian Tchaikovsky and Michael Crichton.

A Financial Times Book of the Year

'Hugely enjoyable' – The Guardian

'An escapist delight' – The Times

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2022
17 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan
SIZE
2.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Pandora Panorama ,

A delightful quick read

A very light, quick read, but a page turner too. It was just fun and got me out of a reading slump. It was my first Scalzi but I am now off to read some more of his.

More Books Like This

The Year's Top Short SF Novels The Year's Top Short SF Novels
2011
Unidentified Funny Objects 5 Unidentified Funny Objects 5
2016
The Devil's Eye (Alex Benedict - Book 4) The Devil's Eye (Alex Benedict - Book 4)
2013
An Aria for Ragnarok An Aria for Ragnarok
2015
Good Guys Good Guys
2018
The Year's Best Science Fiction Vol. 2 The Year's Best Science Fiction Vol. 2
2021

More Books by John Scalzi

Old Man's War Old Man's War
2011
The Ghost Brigades The Ghost Brigades
2008
The Last Colony The Last Colony
2010
Redshirts Redshirts
2012
The Collapsing Empire The Collapsing Empire
2017
The End of All Things The End of All Things
2015

Customers Also Bought

A Desolation Called Peace A Desolation Called Peace
2021
Eyes of the Void Eyes of the Void
2022
Children of Memory Children of Memory
2022
Jack Four Jack Four
2021
The Doors of Eden The Doors of Eden
2020
Lords of Uncreation Lords of Uncreation
2023