• £1.99

Publisher Description

Just WOW! Totally unputdownable. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐, Goodreads reviewer

THE best book I've read this year. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐, Goodreads reviewer

Amazing book, her best yet!!!!’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐, Goodreads reviewer

Gave me shivers – gripping, heart-wrenching, consuming. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐, Goodreads reviewer


The truth can set you free, or make you a prisoner…


Thirty years ago, Nicola Watson lived with her parents and older brother in a respectable suburb. At ten years old, she didn’t yet understand why her stomach tightened when she heard her father’s heavy tread as he returned home late at night, or why it made her brother Graham’s stammer get worse, or why one night her mother Carol woke them both, wide-eyed and whispering, and took them out of their home and into the unknown. 


Now a successful lawyer in the city, with a life poles apart from her dark beginnings, Nicola has returned home for her mother’s funeral. But as she stands in her mother’s house, remembering the woman who sacrificed everything for her children, Nicola has to confront the guilt that she feels for leaving her family behind. And the belief that she played a part in the events that led to her brother going to prison for murder.


All Carol wanted was to protect her children, but escaping her husband was only the beginning of the story. And when Nicola learns the truth of what her mother did, it will change everything she thought she knew about herself and her family.


A gripping, emotional story of family secrets, and the strength of a mother’s love in the darkest times. The next powerful read for fans of The Silent Wife, Kerry Lonsdale and Emily Bleeker.


Readers are loving The Lies We Hide!

 

There are not enough stars in the world to describe my love for this book! A million stars and more from me!’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘This book was beautifully written and brought me to tears. One of the best books I’ve read this year.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘This is one of those books that kept me on the edge of my seat from the beginning to the very end.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Amazing… a story so deep and heartbreaking with so many twists you won’t be able to put it down. I would give this book more stars if I could. Loved it and will be definitely recommending this to all my friends.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘You know when you find one of those books that you know you are going to love right from the first few pages? This is one of those, it’s fast paced and kept me up reading nearly all night last night, I couldn't stop! I can’t recommend it enough, it’s my favourite read this year so far.’ NetGalley Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


The Lies We Hide is a story that will take hold of you. When I wasn’t reading it, I was constantly thinking about it. … Absolutely outstanding!By the Letter Book Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘A brilliant domestic thriller! WOW!! Loved this book – almost read it straight through… The end has a twist I did not see coming!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘This is such a moving story and one I would highly recommend. In fact, thanks to the author, I stayed awake far longer than was sensible in order to keep reading.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Wow, what a book. It grabbed me from the first page and I’m gutted that I’ve finished it. I’ve loved this author’s other books, however this is definitely my favourite so far.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘This is one of those books that kept me on the edge of my seat from the beginning to the very end.’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘This book pulls at your heart. Grabs you from the very first page and doesn’t let go until the very last!’ Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
4 December
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
412
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SIZE
4.4
MB

Customer Reviews

Livingwithaspringer ,

Talented writer but I’d give only 3.5*

The author is obviously a very talented writer and in other circumstances I would have given 5*++. The reasons why I couldn’t here are multiple, boiling down to the use of far too many gimmicks and the subject matter.
First, the main positives for me were that the descriptive writing is very good and the characters are very well drawn and handled.
If you told me that the author has been on a creative writing course I would certainly not be surprised. I would be more surprised to hear that they hadn’t. For example, this book jumps about from the present time to multiple different times in the past and parts are written from the viewpoints of multiple different characters, part in the first person and part in the third person. The worst thing for me though, which was a major reason I struggled to get through the book, was that it was written, absurdly in my opinion, in the present tense. I kept thinking that by the time I was halfway through reading a sentence, the action was already in the past. Even the sections set decades earlier were in the present tense. It added nothing to the narrative for me other than a disruptive annoyance - a gimmick for the sake of it.
The subject matter is very worthy, extremely well handled and thought provoking but has all been dealt with many times in books that I have read recently. The main themes include domestic violence, alcoholism and drug abuse so rather dark and depressing in these days of coronavirus, but it was well written.
I will look for more books by this author but will make sure the format is noticeably less gimmicky before buying.

SThorny ,

The lies we hide

If you are looking for a book with engaging characters and a story that grabs you from the first page - look no further.
This book, written with depth and insight is a totally absorbing read. Glad that I had a few days holiday to devour it in record time.

More Books by S.E. Lynes

2020
2019
2018
2018
2020
2017