The One That Got Away The One That Got Away

The One That Got Away

A Novel

    • 5.0 • 1 Rating
    • £5.49
    • £5.49

Publisher Description

Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, this bright, funny debut from a fresh voice in fiction offers a delicious take on love, family, and what it means to build a home of one’s own.

Sarina Mahler thinks she has her life all nailed down: a growing architecture practice in Austin, Texas, and an any-day-now proposal from her loving boyfriend, Noah. She’s well on her way to having the family she’s hoped for since her mother’s death ten years ago. But with Noah on a temporary assignment abroad and retired Olympic swimmer—and former flame—Eamon Roy back in town asking her to renovate his new fixer-upper, Sarina’s life takes an unexpected turn. Eamon proves to be Sarina’s dream client, someone who instinctively trusts every one of her choices—and Sarina is reminded of all the reasons she was first drawn to him back in the day. Suddenly her carefully planned future with Noah seems a little less than perfect. And when tragedy strikes, Sarina is left reeling. With her world completely upended, she is forced to question what she truly wants in life—and in love.

Full of both humor and heartbreak, The One That Got Away is the story of one woman’s discovery that, sometimes, life is what happens when you leave the blueprints behind.

Praise for The One That Got Away


“A warm, witty, and wise novel, The One That Got Away announces the arrival of a great new voice in fiction.”—Emily Giffin, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The One and Only

“Love can be complicated, and in The One That Got Away, Bethany Chase captures every nuanced beat of a conflicted heart. An authentic and warm voice infuses this story of humor, heartbreak, and home. While Sarina finds her way, we as readers might also find a way back to our own unique lives.”—Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times bestselling author of And Then I Found You

“This perfectly paced story is full of fresh, engaging characters, but Chase’s greatest accomplishment is Sarina Mahler. Sarina is so human, her inner world such a compelling mix of guarded and open-hearted, confident and faltering, that—through every loss, every funny moment, every blazing triumph—I felt completely with her and grateful to be there.”—Marisa de los Santos, New York Times bestselling author of Falling Together

“[A] sparkling debut [that] packs serious emotional punches . . . This utterly enjoyable romance will have readers swooning, sobbing, and eagerly anticipating Chase’s next book.”Kirkus Reviews

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2015
31 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SIZE
2.8
MB

More Books Like This

Every Breath (Every Life Series, #1) Every Breath (Every Life Series, #1)
2013
If Only If Only
2014
Campaign Promises Campaign Promises
2011
Every Kiss Every Kiss
2013
Her Last Hello Her Last Hello
2018
Delicate Delicate
2012

More Books by Bethany Chase

Results May Vary Results May Vary
2016
One Night at the Lake One Night at the Lake
2019

Customers Also Bought

Get Lucky Get Lucky
2010
The Space Between Sisters The Space Between Sisters
2016
That's Not a Thing That's Not a Thing
2020
Looking For Laura Looking For Laura
2019
Cure for the Common Breakup Cure for the Common Breakup
2014
New Uses For Old Boyfriends New Uses For Old Boyfriends
2015