The Other

    • £2.49
    • £2.49

Publisher Description

It started as a typical day in a sleepy little coastal village. But little did they know everything was about to change forever.

Corporal Joe Mills of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police arrives at Gallou Cove, certain the reported 'sea monster' washed ashore would be nothing. What he found there on the beach chilled him to the core.

Dr. Adele Kramer, a marine biologist, shows up to categorize the find. The creature defies any known life found on Earth. At least, nothing originating on the planet.

So begins their introduction to 'The Other', the secret world of cosmic horrors plaguing humanity since before the dawn of time. They soon find themselves drawn into a plot many millennia-old to prevent the end of all existence in the universe. Can they survive the Crawling Chaos and prevent He Who Lies Dreaming from awakening?

This book is the first in a trilogy, containing six of eighteen linked novelettes and novellas meant to be read in order and set in H. P. Lovecraft's Cthulhu Mythos.

Praise for The Other

This book was great! Each chapter in this book is essentially a short story on its own but circulates through characters you're introduced to in the first and second story, so I quite like that. There is a thread to the story that continues through them all and helps create continuity... I very much recommend this collection of stories and would recommend it to anyone who likes Lovecraftian fiction. S. Lowe, Dec 1, 2020.

I read a lot of mythos tales, some good, some bad, and some just tangential. This is one of the better ones. It keeps an up to date feel without sacrificing too much the mythos' 'pulp' origins and character. M Kettlewell, Oct 25, 2020

I enjoyed this collection of stories based on the Cthulhu Mythos. The three main characters are sent on missions either together or alone. Each story is filled with mystery and horror. I recommend this book to anyone who likes Lovecraft's creatures. Ilene, Feb 25, 2020

The book contains the following stories:

It Came From The Sea: the remains of a mysterious creature is washed ashore on a small village, forever changing the lives of all who see it.

It Slumbers Beneath The Ice: an ancient entity of cosmic evil lies trapped in Arctic ice. A mysterious cult seeks to free it from its prison, an event the investigators rush to prevent.

It Lives In The Woods: A cultist summons an entity from the Dreamlands and unleashes it on this world with deadly consequences.

It Hides In The Village: Small rural towns are breeding grounds for Mythos activity, where a dedicated group of followers assists The Black Pharoah in his plans to spread discord and chaos.

It Lurks In The Basement: An investigator is recovering from her encounters with The Other when she learns of an entity of unspeakable evil imprisoned in the basement of a home in her neighbourhood.

It Ends Where It Began: All of the investigators are brought together and return to the blighted village where their odyssey began and learn of the diabolical plan of a malign deity and one of the Mythos' most active antagonists.

The Happenings of December 13, 2012: The story of the investigator's mysterious handler and how The Other first drew him into its web of terror.

This is the first book in a trilogy.

Fiction & Literature
23 February
Troy Young

More Books by Troy Young


Other Books in This Series