• £1.49

Publisher Description

The Lambert sisters have secrets…

When 15-year-old Cathy Lambert runs away from her Dublin home, she is scared and pregnant. Settled in New Zealand with her new son Conor she believes the secret she carries will never be revealed…

Rebecca Lambert was eighteen when her parents died and she took responsibility for her younger sisters. Years later, she is haunted by fears she hoped she'd conquered.

Freed from family duties, mother of three Julie Chambers is determined to recapture the dreams of her youth.

Married to a possessive older man, Lauren Moran embarks on a frantic love affair that threatens to destabilise her fragile world.

Anxious to make peace with her three sisters, Cathy invites them to her wedding.

But as the women journey together through New Zealand towards their reunion, they are forced to confront the past as the secret shared histories of the Lambert sisters are revealed.

Fans of Amanda Brooke and Liane Moriarty will be gripped by this emotional story of a family shaken by secrets.

Reviews

Praise for Laura Elliot:

'A page-turner…has all the ingredients of a bestseller.' RTE

‘A gripping, multi-stranded novel… An unusual combination of fine writing, strong plotting and a huge cast of well-formed characters.' Irish Examiner

'An extraordinary, ambitious debut.' Deirdre Purcell

'From the opening section, this page-turner is gripping, all the more because it presents the dilemmas of betrayal with brutal honesty.' Irish Independent

'A well-crafted and compelling story traces the deceits which begin unnoticed but end in the destruction of friendships and lives.' Irish Times

About the author

Laura Elliot is the pseudonym of children’s writer and journalist June Considine. She is already a bestseller in her native Ireland. The Prodigal Sister is her UK debut.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2009
July 9
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Avon
SIZE
1.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Mello1970 ,

The Prodigal Sister

Brilliant, enthralling, passionate, guilt-ridden, painful but above all loving. Great book, couldn't put it down.

More Books by Laura Elliot