The Quincunx: The Palphramonds

    • £1.99
    • £1.99

Publisher Description

A classic Victorian mystery full of intrigue, deadly plots and devastating twists and turns

Falsely imprisoned in an asylum, John escapes from their clutches with the help of the kindly Digweed family. Starting a new life in hiding with them may feel safer, but they survive by scavenging the sewers of London.

Summoning his strength, and on discovering the existence of a second will that could be his salvation, John must go undercover in the guise of a servant, into the very heart of the enemy themselves…


The fourth part of the classic and beloved The Quincunx is perfect for fans of Michel Faber and  S.J. Parris.

Praise for The Quincunx

Grips like steel… it’s a book to make you miss your stop on the bus or the train, keep you up at night and wake you early… a formidable achievement’ Kaleidoscope, BBC Radio 4

‘His brilliant and entertaining pastiche of the mid-nineteenth-century novel’ The Times

‘A brilliant and deeply eccentric attempt to reproduce an early Victorian novel…it combines massive scope with minute detail – there is a cast of thousands, but every figure is loveingly painted. The plot is so thick the spoon stands up in it, and by the end, the reader has toured the whole of late Regency society… Magnificent – gripping and beautifully written; the sort of book that sends you into a trance of pleasure’ Independent

‘Charles Palliser has realised a world that can almost be smelt and tasted as it pours off the page of this gripping, extraordinary novelDaily Telegraph

‘His plot is of an intricacy that Wilkie Collins himself might have envied… an astonishing achievementScotsman

The Quincunx

The Huffams
The Mompessons
The Clothiers
The Palphramonds
The Maliphants

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
19 July
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
439
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SIZE
599.7
KB

More Books by Charles Palliser

2018
2013
2018
2018
2018
2015

Customers Also Bought

2011
2021
2020
2018
2019
2010

Other Books in This Series

2018
2018