• £1.49

Publisher Description

A damaged detective and a brutal serial killer collide in this nail-biting thriller debut.

Detective Inspector Damen Brook thinks he’s left his past behind him in London. But it seems a serial killer has followed him north…

Brook’s seeking sanctuary. Years in the MET have left their mark - so much so that he's fled to Derby leaving behind his marriage, his teenage daughter and very nearly his sanity to wind down a once promising career in the peace of the Peak District.

But one winter's night, Brook is confronted by a serial killer he hunted many years before - The Reaper - a man who slaughters families in their homes then disappears without a trace.

To find this killer Brook must discover what the Reaper is doing in Derby, why he's started killing again and what, if anything, connects the butchered families.

As Brook becomes entangled in a deadly game of cat and mouse, he is forced to face his own demons by revisiting the previous investigation and confronting a past that destroyed his family and nearly cost him his life…

A heart-stopping thriller from a stunning new crime talent, for fans of Stuart MacBride and Thomas Harris.

Reviews

'Great characterisation and natural sounding dialogue, the pace seems to bound along nicely, and there's a good thread of humour tinged with world-weary cynicism.' Authonomy, reader review

'I loved the gritty realism and the characters. The pacing is spot on too.' Authonomy, reader review

'Do not normally read crime novels, but the opening caught my eye. Anxious to read more…' Authonomy, reader review

About the author

Steven Dunne has written for fun since Kent university when he first became interested in writing and performing. His primary focus was comedy. He wrote and performed sketches as well as dipping his toe into the terrifying world of stand up comedy. He is now a full time English teacher in Derby.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2009
July 9
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
544
Pages
PUBLISHER
Avon
SIZE
1.1
MB

Customer Reviews

R BLOB P ,

Reaper

Deep and dark to the point where you actually give the killer respect.

Leeds mum ,

The case that just won't go away

The Reaper is the first Damen Brook book and what a start to the series. Blood and guts throughout and Brook trying to catch his nemesis the Reaper. Brook has been chasing the Reaper for a long time; he knows who it is but he can't prove it. It's his obsession to the extent he's lost his family to another man and has minimal friends within the force.

I read The Reaper after numerous rave reviews from others in THE Book Club and it hasn't disappointed. I loved the references to the various parts of Derby and the surrounding area, the county where I spent my formative years.

Steven Dunne you've got a new fan and I'll be coming back to DI Brook very soon!

Sunderland Crime Fan ,

Gripping!

What a great read. I was hooked and had to stop myself from racing through it cos I just didn't want it to end. Believable characters and I just kept trying to second guess what what going to emerge, never getting it right. Read it now!

More Books by Steven Dunne